We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, excellent food”
Review of Cafe Narnia

Cafe Narnia
Ranked #27 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Description: Done out like the lion the witch and Wardrobe Cnr Kamo Rd and Mains Ave
Restaurant details
Description: Done out like the lion the witch and Wardrobe Cnr Kamo Rd and Mains Ave
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Parking is limited and a bit tricky but plan your trip and don't let this put you off - at all.
Staff very professional and welcoming. Food all home beautifully cooked & presented.
Highly recommend.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HelenJG786
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2017 via mobile

Ordered Eggs Benedict with bacon and no spinach , got eggs Benedict with bacon and spinach. So wasn't a good start. They should be careful considering they have an open kitchen if they're going to keep making rude and judgmental comments about people out in the cafe just because they aren't as skinny as you. Girl at the counter was very smug and unfriendly, also was the girl making rude remarks. Go figure. I think they've definitely got a lot of work to do if they want people to keep coming back, as it is very dark and unexciting, with pretty slack service.

Date of visit: October 2017
2  Thank KatelinI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2017

For a long time we have tried to get into the Cafe Narnia. The times we went past it was not open. (Hours are 7 til 2). This time we were lucky and found a park outside the door. (There is also parking further up the road). The staff there were helpful and pleasant. Paintings adorned the walls, which were available to purchase.
I had a bacon panini and my partner a chicken panini from the cabinet. We were to learn later that the cafe specialities are breakfast meals. The paninis were nice, served with a bit of lettuce and dressing. We also had a slice of chocolate brownie and cappuccinos, which were enjoyable. I came away with a satisfied feeling. Food was good. People were helpful- especially the young man there who showed us his Aunty's preserves that were for sale. Fresh local produce. Always good to support the locals.
I looked around for signs of CS Lewis books. Yes there was a set of books 'The Chronicles of Narnia', plus a small model on the bookshelf. But for me, the cafe was worth the visit just to pull aside the fur coats and go into the other room- just like in the Narnia books!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Stopped in for a light lunch, on a Sunday afternoon. Lovely food, good coffee. Interesting art work.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank Freklejuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Good Service staff
Food was good standard eggs Benedict not consistent
adequate wait time
Setting is unexciting. Not Narnia Themed. Just art and condiments for sale.... however the concept of walking through a wardrobe entrance would of been great but not clearly indicated as our group missed that.
Need a magic wand or imagination to bring Narnia alive

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Narnia also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Cafe Narnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.