We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food if you can wait while”
Review of Ezumi

Ezumi
Ranked #65 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 18 August 2018

My fiance an I have eaten here several times and while the food is very good, the wait times are hard to bare. The last visit we ended up paying for our drinks and leaving without eating as an hour had already passed and we had a movie to go and see. I could have understood a long wait if the place was busy but this was not the case. There was only one other table with about 8 people on it and we had ordered Sashimi so not like there was any cooking time. Reluctant to go back and I really find that a shame.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mongreltodx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2018

My husband and I have been here twice, and loved it both times! We went last spring, and we went just recently for our anniversary dinner. The service is friendly and timely and we got just what we ordered. The food has been delicious each time we've been there. My husband and I enjoy ordering the bento box because you get to try a variety of foods and we LOVE them! The food is just so delicious and satisfying.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LadyCutforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2018

Seven of us. Far too slow getting food out. Then order mucked up so had further wait. Never came near to ask if we wanted anything ( drink or anything) Had to find the woman and ask for water. Food tasty enough but not worth such a long wait. Never again for me

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hilaryed2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Hate doing bad reviews but feel too robbed not to.
We sat down and I first noticed my tablecloth looked disgusting. Mouldy or badly stained. We ordered. Received our sake. And waited... and waited.. and waited... no water was offered throughout the entire stay and the waitress was away so we couldn't even ask for any. There was one other staff member on and that was the chef. Dinner took so long I was ready to walk out.. it arrived
Most was cold. My chicken was like dried leather and the sushi was dry like it was from the day before. I ate it because we had waited an hour but still thirsty we then paid. Wasn't asked how our meal was because they don't care. It was disgusting by the way. And as I lifted my feet one by one off a very sticky floor we left. Feeling robbed
Happy anniversary to my husband and I.
Usually we would go to omoide. But they were shut. But I'd have had better service at Mc donalds..

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Shanelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

This restaurant is one we always come back to when we want something consistent and tasty, good choice of food, meat or vegetarian. The wine list should be updated though. Deep fried bananas ice cream and chocolate sauce yum!

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fayenz17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ezumi also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Ezumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing