We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Whangarei (& NZ Greek) restaurant”

Acropolis Cafe Bar & Grill
Reserve a table
Ranked #9 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Restaurant details
Reviewed 13 April 2024

By far my favourite Whangarei restaurant. Food and service is great, the modern-Greek menu is just right, and everything is done without fuss so you can relax and enjoy yourself. The location is a bonus, so good to be away from the bustle of the city and no parking hassles, just enjoy the outlook onto fishing trawlers, the sweep of the river and the hills. Thanks everyone!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2024

Beautiful location, attentive staff, tasty food.
Well priced.
Definitely recommend, great for groups.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank JANEphil2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2024

Great food - Friendly amiable attentive staff and a picturesque harbour location. The authentic greek menu makes you want to try everything

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank Jamesec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2024

We went on a Tuesday evening and the atmosphere was great. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful but gave us space, time and privacy.
The food was amazing with great depth of flavors and aroma.
Probably the best meal we've had in Whangarei for many years.
Keep up the good work.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank Northlander66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024

We were a group of 5 and ordered quite a few different meals and shared them all. What an amazing experience doing it the truly Greek style way of eating and we got to try so many different meals. We enjoyed everyone of the them and cannot wait to go back. The service was impeccable and such lovely staff! The tranquility of sitting out on the river just topped it all off.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Acropolis Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Acropolis Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.