We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining experience.”

Acropolis Cafe Bar & Grill
Reserve a table
Ranked #11 of 158 Restaurants in Whangarei
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 March 2024

We had a lovely birthday dinner at Acropolis. The food is authentic and delicious. The drinks menu comes complete with divine Greek wines. The service is perfect, to the point but not overbearing. A slice of Greece in Whangarei.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Gacehlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2024

Just Stunning, wow, the most beautiful, flavoursome food I have ever eaten, can’t wait to go again. I wanted to lick the plate, it was that good. I am gluten free, was apprehensive to try a new place, but wow, gf options with so much flavour it was such a delight to find, and the service was so refreshing, happy, and yes the owner, but wow so dedicated to making this restaurant happen, come on locals, visitors, everyone, support this fantastic food experience, you won’t be disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarbaraW4004
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 March 2024

This is a really nice setting on the waterfront. The food was really tasty and interesting as I've not had a lot of Greek food, and we loved the cheese entrée. The portions were large too. The service was cheerful and we got our meals reasonably quick, despite the restaurant being quite full.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Hungrywoman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 February 2024

Stunning! What a location and wonderful food. Went today for the first time and will definitely go back again...would happily say that this is one of the best meals we've had in ages - I hardly ever review so this is quite something!

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DouglasPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 February 2024

Last night was my first visit to Acropolis Bar & Grill. I loved it. They have an extensive food and wine menu and the servings are generous. The food was fabulous, the service was friendly and faultless, and the setting on a sunny warm Whangarei evening was perfect.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tinamY32WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Acropolis Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Acropolis Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.