We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
25
31
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
31
15
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2019 via mobile

Stayed here twice during november2019.
Would have stayed again only it was no vacancy. Excellent value and nice clean new motel. Reasonably quiet though it's on main road. Will stay again. You won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jimnoosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PohutukawaLodgeWHG, Manager at Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2019

Hey Jim!

Thanks for the great review, sorry that we were full on your last stay, Hope to see you again on your next visit!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2019

Spend three nights here last week. When booking, was told (without asking) this motel was 4 star. Having recently had major foot, surgery shower and toilet aids were necessary, and these were certainly very good. The unit was tired and needed some TLC.. A good clean would have helped - especially on top of the microwave and I don't think the face on the bedside clock had ever been cleaned. In saying this, the supply of towels etc was excellent with plenty of soft fluffy towels and a very good shower. The one thing that made this place less than expected, was that although there was detergent and tea towels, there was no kitchen sink. The handbasin in the bathroom was simply that with no way dishes could even ben done in there. Although it was on the main road, it was very quiet.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PohutukawaLodgeWHG, Manager at Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2019

Hi Mary,

Thanks for your review, glad to hear you had a good stay and that the room facilities were handy post surgery.
Our studio rooms don't have full kitchen facilities e.g. sinks, detergent, tea towels. Our cleaners take the dishes out of the rooms daily to clean them so we don't expect our guests to do the dishes in bathroom sinks.
However our 1 and 2 bedroom units have full kitchen facilities if you are after this on your next stay in Whangarei.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2019 via mobile

Not a lot of parking as the property is on a main road so everyone has to park on the driveway in front of the old style motel units.
There is no aircon and the windows don’t have fly-screens so if you open the windows at night there is no security and insects fly in. The room was a bit stuffy with only one ceiling fan over the double bed. The bed’s mattress was very basic and had little support so although I slept ok my back wasn’t great the next day.
The bathroom was quite large and there was a kitchenette in the motel room.
I wouldn’t stay again. Look for something off the main road.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Enjoy_the_breeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PohutukawaLodgeWHG, General Manager at Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Hi Enjoy_the_breeze,

Thanks for your review.
We have good quality mattresses that are new so I'm disappointed you only slept okay. We've had good reviews from our guests about the quality of our mattresses.
Whilst we are located on the main road, our location is what attracts guests and most find whilst it seems like it should be noisy, the rooms usually aren't during the night.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2019 via mobile

This is where we stay most times when visiting Whangarei and when they aren’t fully booked. Very popular motel, always clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. Staff are very helpful. Although it is on the main drag most units are quiet. Wide range of studios and family units.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PohutukawaLodgeWHG, General Manager at Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Hi Eva,

Thanks so much for your kind review!
Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Great location, room clean and shower pressure amazing. Bed and pillows comfortable. Would recommend to friends and family. Good value for money and friendly, helpful staff. Activity information varied and plentiful.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PohutukawaLodgeWHG, General Manager at Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Hi Frances,

Thanks for your kind review!
Hope to see you on your next visit to Whangarei!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews