We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 9 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
25
31
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
31
15
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2019 via mobile

This is where we stay most times when visiting Whangarei and when they aren’t fully booked. Very popular motel, always clean and comfortable and reasonably priced. Staff are very helpful. Although it is on the main drag most units are quiet. Wide range of studios and family units.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PohutukawaLodgeWHG, General Manager at Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Hi Eva,

Thanks so much for your kind review!
Hope to see you again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Great location, room clean and shower pressure amazing. Bed and pillows comfortable. Would recommend to friends and family. Good value for money and friendly, helpful staff. Activity information varied and plentiful.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Frances S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PohutukawaLodgeWHG, General Manager at Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Hi Frances,

Thanks for your kind review!
Hope to see you on your next visit to Whangarei!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Unit spotless, daily housekeeping of the highest order. The overall impression is however the complex needs an upgrade, our unit was tired as were the furnishing and fittings, very limited cooking facilities. Seemed to be expensive for standard of room we had. Great spa bath.

Room tip: On main road but we were not troubled with noise
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PohutukawaLodgeWHG, General Manager at Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Hi Jim

Thanks for your review.
We have been recently completing complex/room maintenance but thank you for your feedback.
Our studio rooms have basic cooking facilities - microwave, kettle, plates/bowls/cutlery. However our 1 & 2 bedroom units have full cooking facilities if you require this on your next stay in Whangarei.

Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

Having stayed here before in past years I thought this place was a sure bet for a good quality, value for money experience. Unfortunately however, while it was this in the past, it has not had the TLC it has needed for upkeep in recent years.

The beds were ok and the room looked like it had been cleaned the best it could be but wear and tear made it look worn and unkept. e.g. the outdoor table outside the unit was badly chipped and damaged, there was a very visible split in the upholstery on the couch (which was quite uncomfortable), the toilet cistern was covered in black mould, the shower head needed replacing, toilet roll holder etc were discoloured with age and looked like it had been repositioned on the wall but the previous holes not covered and painted properly etc.

Other reviews note grumpy owners - I didn’t experience that but wouldn’t say the reception was overly friendly and helpful - about average.

Prices are reasonable compared to others in Whangarei if the motel upkeep had been maintained. Don’t feel that they are reasonable in its current state.

I was disappointed and embarrassed to bring family members to what I thought was a good option for accommodation. Won’t be back unless a renovation occurs to adress the above issues and in fact stayed elsewhere when revisiting the area this month.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank jodidrake4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PohutukawaLodgeWHG, General Manager at Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Hi Jodi,

Thank you for your feedback, this will certainly be passed on to our cleaning and maintenance staff. We always strive to keep our rooms & motel to a standard that our guests expect and that we would expect if we were guests.
We have been undertaking maintenance and hope that if you ever return to Pohutukawa Lodge, you will be happy with your next stay,

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We had 1 night here as we toured around. The motel was very full as it was a bank holiday and there were a couple of music festivals on - this meant that parking was tight on site and you couldn't necessarily park outside your unit as other guests brought more than 1 vehicle . The rooms are dated but comfortable . There is no air con so thank goodness for the fan otherwise the room would have been too stuffy. The location of the motel is good - easy to find and easy to get into the city centre .

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PohutukawaLodgeWHG, General Manager at Bk's Pohutukawa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2019

Hi YorkBonBon,

Thank you for your review.
Sometimes the parking does get a little tight when rooms have multiple vehicles but there is at least 1 spot available per room and we find more often than not, parking is not an issue. We will pass on all your feedback to our maintenance team.

Thank you and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews