We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service during peak period”
Review of Parua Bay Tavern

Parua Bay Tavern
Ranked #1 of 27 Quick Bites in Whangarei
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Parua Bay Tavern is nestled on the waterfront of the beautiful Whangarei Heads harbour under the majestic Mt. Aubrey and Whangarei Headland.With its own jetty and picturesque outlook the tavern is a favourite for lunch and dinners, groups and large functions whether downstairs on the covered dining deck, on the lovely lawn or upstairs in the function area.
Reviewed 31 December 2023 via mobile

Visited the Tavern today for a family lunch and we knew it would be busy being NY Eve but managed to find a table quickly. There were queues at the bar to order but the staff were smiling the entire time providing awesome service. Our meals took a little bit longer due to it being so busy but the atmosphere was great and bar service flowed well. The food was great as always and we left with everyone being happy - thank you Parua Tavern staff for a great experience during one of the busiest times of the year.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Cruiser40440784971
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2023 via mobile

Really stunning location. A great venue for larger groups and families. Good casual dining experience. Food was nice - very classic New Zealand dining experience (fish & chips, burgers, pizzas etc). The cocktails were also really nice. Good drinks range,
The only criticism is that the gluten free options were very limited.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Odyssey15148348783
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2023 via mobile

Came for lunch as a group of 5.

Food hit the spot, beer was cold and the views outside were great.

Awesome pub and worth a visit

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank 4576A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 August 2023

Warned it would be a 30 min wait but it was 1hr. Our meals came out at different times so that I was half way though before his came out. I ordered the fish and chips and the chips were half chip crumbs, not like the little crispy ones, like the ones that have gotten loose in the fryer and scooped up after a couple of rounds. My husband got a burger and fries and had quite a few (not as many) of these too. They were cold as well. The salad was straight from the bag with no extras. For $31 it was a bit of a rip! Also, no acknowledgement from staff that they forgot our order (other tables came and went during our wait).

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 June 2023 via mobile

Beaut day, beaut setting, delicious food.
Highly recommend the Harvest Salad, for lunch, fresh, tasty and a generous serving.
Alongside a Somersby Cider it was pretty close to perfect! Will be back.

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank Passport48831988728
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Parua Bay Tavern also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Parua Bay Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.