We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the high recommendations”
Review of Parua Bay Tavern

Parua Bay Tavern
Ranked #1 of 27 Quick Bites in Whangarei
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, View details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Parua Bay Tavern is nestled on the waterfront of the beautiful Whangarei Heads harbour under the majestic Mt. Aubrey and Whangarei Headland.With its own jetty and picturesque outlook the tavern is a favourite for lunch and dinners, groups and large functions whether downstairs on the covered dining deck, on the lovely lawn or upstairs in the function area.
Reviewed 19 June 2021

On our travels around Northland this place was recommended a number of times, and we can see why. Despite being far from any town, it was packed with locals and tourists on the Saturday lunch we were there. But there were still lots of tables outside on the waterfront, which despite being the middle of winter was warm and beautiful setting. Service was also warm, friendly and professional, and the food came fast despite being extremely busy. Pretty basic pub fare done well, with our Fish & Chips and Seafood Chowder top notch. Good selection of beers and wine, pool tables, play area for kids, all round a fantastic bar - and will now join the recommenders!

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Vic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2021

Loved the location and the food. Great fish and chips.
Easy parking for large campervan. Staff very welcoming and friendly

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Girlsroadtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 March 2021 via mobile

It was a cool autumn evening when we went, which meant sitting inside. But we were out on the enclosed deck so still had lovely views. The place was very busy (Friday night), with lots of families with young children who appeared to be having fun racing round outside.
The food was good pub fare. The seafood chowder was particularly good. Recommended.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank StheG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 January 2021

We were recommended to come for lunch by family members who regularly visit - and we are so glad that we did. When we arrived the various car parks were chocka - but it wasn't long before someone left. The bar staff were super onto it - we had a flight to catch so asked about the wait time on food because the pub was humming. Told us it would be about 30minutes which we were happy with. Ordered our beers and pizza and went outside into the sun. There are so many seating options here - inside near the bar; inside looking over the Bay; outside on the deck (shaded or unshaded) then down on the grass. Was so impressed. The staff were on the go constantly and the turn over of tables was super fast. Food only took 15 minutes and was really good. Loved it and will definitely return next time we are in the area.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Food
2  Thank famadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2020

So disappointed after hearing good reports. Very limited menu appealing mostly to children, consisting of the usual deep-fried Takeaway stuff. Service casual and disconnected, no care in plating the meal, very noisy and wrongly billed. When there’s nothing else for miles you can get away with anything, but once a year would be enough if you’re desperate.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Cris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Parua Bay Tavern also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Parua Bay Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.