We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service - worst lone star in NZ”
Review of Lonestar Whangarei

Lonestar Whangarei
Reserve a table
Ranked #74 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 April 2024

Unfortunately things have gone down hill at lone star Whangarei and I don’t think management care; reading other reviews, we agree, service is the worst we’ve encountered, long wait time for simple meals, and rude wait staff that couldn’t care less. The tables and floors need a good scrub, carpet needs replacing and what’s a lone star with no famous sauces on your table. I hope the franchise is reviewed, this place is not a patch on Queenstown or many others we’ve visited. We won’t be returning anytime soon.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank robnicolenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2024

worst restaurant experience ever
drinks order for our 6.30 reservation for 17 bowlers took over 20 minutes to arrive

the meals took over 2 hrs to arrive
the food waiter had to waste a lot of time asking who ordered what to distribute.

i had to wait over 10 minutes for front of house to arrive to settle my bill
i was overcharged for an $18 bottle of beer not ordered despite clearly stating what i had recieved

to be fair two big birthday groups and our bowls group made for a busy restuarant
but we would have all made reservations
staff did their best but were undertrained. overworked and understaffed

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 984ricm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lone Star Whangarei, Owner at Lonestar Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Our deepest apologise. Will review with management as 2 hours or eating at 8:30pm is a long wait?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2023

Calamari for entree was tough, pork belly was overcooked and the crackling wasn't due to probably been reheated in microwave or convention oven. Ordered creme brulee for dessert, the mixture was 'split' and was terrible. Not a pleasant dining experience at all

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jayandali2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lone Star Whangarei, Owner at Lonestar Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Thanks for the feedback - Clear for us to fix. Apologies for this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2023

The food was delicious but the seating was very hard and uncomfortable and the service was terrible. We had to wait for long periods between courses and it was hard to get anyone to notice us even though there was plenty of staff standing around talking. The music was also very loud. We expected better for the price we paid and will not be dining in again.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Connector33187231628
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lone Star Whangarei, Owner at Lonestar Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2023

Hello, thanks for all the reviews. Feedback noted and action. Hope to you see again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2023

Good food choices. A special effort was made with my gluten-free meals. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank marymlaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lone Star Whangarei, Owner at Lonestar Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Thanks for the Review and feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lonestar Whangarei also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Lonestar Whangarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.