We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food, crappy service.”
Review of Lonestar Whangarei

Lonestar Whangarei
Reserve a table
Ranked #78 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Restaurant details
Reviewed 10 May 2023

The food was delicious but the seating was very hard and uncomfortable and the service was terrible. We had to wait for long periods between courses and it was hard to get anyone to notice us even though there was plenty of staff standing around talking. The music was also very loud. We expected better for the price we paid and will not be dining in again.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Connector33187231628
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lone Star Whangarei, Owner at Lonestar Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2023

Hello, thanks for all the reviews. Feedback noted and action. Hope to you see again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2023

Good food choices. A special effort was made with my gluten-free meals. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank marymlaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lone Star Whangarei, Owner at Lonestar Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2023

Thanks for the Review and feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2023

Had lunch here recently. The meal was fantastic great portions. The waitress was friendly and attentive.

Date of visit: January 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank giggler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lone Star W, Owner at Lonestar Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Thanks for the review and feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2022 via mobile

Service was pleasant as usual but chef must have been having a bad night - eye fillet steak ordered medium was hard on the outside, bleeding raw inside. This loyal customer is truly disappointed.

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank Culture47749591041
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lone Star W, Owner at Lonestar Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2022

Thanks for the review and feedback. We will get on to it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2022 via mobile

What an absolutely fabulous dining experience from the moment we walked in to the moment we left. Service was amazing and boy was the food so good. Possibly the best food we have had in New Zealand. Portions were so large and so tasty - best steak and my wife had pork belly and said it is the best she has ever had (which is a huge compliment). Loved the ambiance and decor and toilets were beautifully clean. Cannot fault this great establishment.

Date of visit: October 2022
1  Thank Xanerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lone Star W, Owner at Lonestar Whangarei, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2022

Wow ... Thanks for this great review. Will past this on to the team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lonestar Whangarei also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Lonestar Whangarei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.