We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disaster”

Sabio Cafe & Coffee Roastery
Ranked #71 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Description: We are a boutique coffee roastery and cafe, situated just off the Hatea Loop and the Town Basin in Sunny Whangarei. We offer a great selection of cafe style food made with fresh local produce to go alongside your choice of espresso coffee or assorted teas and cold drinks. While you are here you can pick up some freshly roasted coffee for home!
Restaurant details
Description: We are a boutique coffee roastery and cafe, situated just off the Hatea Loop and the Town Basin in Sunny Whangarei. We offer a great selection of cafe style food made with fresh local produce to go alongside your choice of espresso coffee or assorted teas and cold drinks. While you are here you can pick up some freshly roasted coffee for home!
Reviewed 3 January 2022

Table for two ~ only one got food. And waited 35 min although place was not busy. The manager informed me “ this is the fist I hear of it, mistakes happen” when I enquired. I had to ask for a refund as not offered. At the 45 min mark, finally left. Very disappointed at service.

Date of visit: January 2022
    • Value
    • Food
Thank SarahC900000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2021

Great ambience, authentic delicious food and superb coffee. Staff are welcoming, food arrived quickly and you get the feeling they like being there and creating food from scratch

Date of visit: December 2021
1  Thank Mothonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 June 2021

Sabio has quickly become our preferred local coffee destination. Conveniently on the Hatea Loop route, but tucked away from the main tourist cafes. Also on offer are quality bread & baking. No doubt it will continue to gain in popularity...

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dianejbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 May 2021

Called in to Sabio for lunch last week and what a find! This unassuming cafe was really good with great selection of food. We had salads which were excellent and tasty, They also do their own sourdough bread which we took home and found to be delicious! Coffee and tea was superb!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gsrodda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penny, Owner at Sabio Cafe & Coffee Roastery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

Thanks for coming in - glad you enjoyed your visit:-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2021

Not only is the food and coffee great here, but also the customer service! Staff are friendly and extremely helpful. Needed to change my baby grandson and they set up a changing station in the back room for us! Can’t think of any other cafe or restaurant that would do that! Way beyond the call of duty. So helpful, will definitely be back! Thanks for your help yesterday, it was greatly appreciated.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank aimkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Penny, Owner at Sabio Cafe & Coffee Roastery, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2021

You are most welcome. Thanks for coming in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sabio Cafe & Coffee Roastery also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Sabio Cafe & Coffee Roastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.