We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrumptious brunch”
Review of Mokaba Cafe

Mokaba Cafe
Ranked #12 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: $5 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Stunning location, delicious food & coffee, gorgeous cakes & pastries including gluten free, friendly service, licenced, free wifi, plenty of parking. Fully licensed.Delightful all day cafe overlooking the bustling Whangarei Town Basin where boats from all over the world are moored. Open 7 days from 8am - 5pm,fabulous food (including gluten free options) and delicious Chiasso coffee are served all day by friendly, welcoming staff. Zenbu hotspot wifi available - free download vouchers. After an exciting Mokaba experience there is a wide range of excellent boutique shops, artisans and craftsmen, museums, parks and a boardwalk along the side of the Hatea River.
Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

Brilliant brunch so eloquently plated - work of art before you even taste it
Helpful friendly staff
Amazing location
Outside seating
Fab strong coffee in a large mug
Great value for what you get served
Clean toilets
You must visit !

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank TheBurgerReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2024

Very disappointing service, found a hair in our food, the waitress was very rude, and never apologised, asked abruptly, "what do you want?" How about a manager and a fresh meal WITHOUT the extra non ordered hair!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Wanderer01209303779
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 December 2023 via mobile

Delicious big breakfast with a hot chocolate. Great menu, great dining area, clean toilets and wheelchair access. Located near the shops and plenty of parking.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank ReyburnGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 April 2023

The cafe was so busy but the staff were calm, friendly, and efficient. The medium, double-shot flat white was perfect- great barista- and there was a whole display shelf of gluten free snacks for my wife and teenage grand daughters

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fearless11491291917
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2023 via mobile

Although the coffee was a great flavour it was only like warm.
Staff were friendly but seemed to be disorganised but was very busy.

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank redunn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Mokaba Cafe also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Mokaba Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.