We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Travelocity
eDreams
Expedia.com
US$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/10/21
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
Hotels.comUS$102
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
113
18
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
113
18
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wonderful hosts new zealand b and b front of the house lovely home breakfast was delicious places to visit a lovely place to stay lovely room rooms are spacious each morning enjoyed our stay local area jennie ensuite nz villa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

Had a night here on the way up north and thoroughly enjoyed it. Jennie and Tony are very welcoming and go out of their way to make you comfortable and feel at home.

Would certainly recommend to others and would stay again if passing through or needing Whangarei accomodation

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nzukcelloinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea House, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2021

Thank you so much for taking time to leave your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay during your recent trip to NZ from Australia.
Kindest regards
Jennie & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020

This would have to be the best bnb in NZ. We stayed here 4 nights. From the moment we walked in we felt at home. Jennie explained the history of the old house and then showed us to our room. The room was spacious and extremely clean as was the ensuite. We were given the use of their lounge which had a small table in it. With use of the microwave, plates and cutlery available in a unit in the spacious passage way we were able to buy at the supermarket and cook our own meals. Breakfasts were filling served at the long table in the kitchen. As we didn't eat the croissants Jennie filled the with ham, cheese and tomato for our lunches. As we were away from home for a while I was able to catch up on our washing using their washing machine. Jennie and Tony are superb hosts, there if needed, if not, in the background leaving us to our own devices. We would highly recommend this BnB.

Room tip: Our room was assigned.
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GayleNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea House, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2020

Hi Noel & Gayle,
Thank you for taking the time to leave such an awesome review of your recent stay with us at Chelsea House.
It was lovely to meet you both and both. Tony and I looked forward to our chats over breakfasts and that the spacious guest lounge was enjoyed in the afternoons and evenings by you both.
The title of your review - Best B&B in NZ is so appreciated and makes us very proud that you consider us so.
We we hope we can welcome you both again sometime soon.
Jennie & Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2020

* Great hosts Jennie & Tony, very helpful with knowledge of area and things to do and see
* Very clean, wonderful breakfast
* Walk to grocery store
* Nice nature walk to the marina and restaurants
* Would highly recommend if in the area
* Great location from which to see Whangarei as well as jump off point to day trip north.

Room tip: We had the front room which was spacious and very comfortable. All rooms are great. Free parking at the rear of the B & B.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea House, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2020

Hi Doug and Carmela
Wow! Another fabulous review and to be given the title Best B&B in the north island, I'm so very grateful for your review.
Thanks for sharing your Sicilian family recipes with me. Now NZ is in Covid19 lockdown will have time in the next four weeks to give them a go.
I hope you and all of your loved ones in Italy and Canada are ok.
Kindest Regards
Jennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020

We stayed at the Chelsea House for 2 nights. The house has a great history. The rooms are spacious and well equipped as is the whole house. Jennie made us feel very comfortable and gave us great suggestions on how to spend our days. It is walking distance to great walks and to town and convenient to Whangarei Heads which is a great place to spend a day. There are only two bedrooms so it is very private. The breakfast and snacks are delicious. We would definitely return.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColtGlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea House, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Hi C & S,
It was such fun hosting such a bright and bubbly couple. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you during your stay in Whangarei. You really made the most of your short stay in NZ.
I'm hoping you managed to get home to New York before NZ went into lockdown.
Keep in touch and I hope you get to have your reunion with your furbaby before too long.
Safe travels
Jennie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2020

Jennie and Tony were incredibly welcoming and we settled quickly in to the most well-appointed room and comfortable bed on our two week vacation. There was on-site parking and plenty of space to spread out and get reorganized at this halfway point on our journey. Jennie was friendly and helpful in many things, including snagging a last minute dinner reservation at the best restaurant in town. She reached out to us weeks before our visit to inquire about our plans and offer suggestions for must-see sights. There were fresh baked cookies on hand, and delicious breakfast cooked to order each morning. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LocalCaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea House, Owner at Chelsea House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2020

Hi, R & P,
Thanks for choosing to stay with us, not long before NZ was to go into lockdown and for such an awesome review - to learn that we were your favourite stay is really special.
It was a treat to get to know you both and have time to sit and chat over a cuppa or breakfast.
Every Friday as I sit down to watch Call the Midwife it reminds me of sharing that time with you too.
All the very best and stay safe.
Jennie and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews