We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Collection is outstanding”

Claphams Clocks - The National Clock Museum
Ranked #9 of 57 things to do in Whangarei
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Collection is outstanding”
Reviewed 5 March 2017

I love clocks small big medium whatever so this was just a wonderful experience looking at the collection ranging from cuckoo clocks early 1800s clocks 50s style clocks grandfather clocks wall clocks mantel clocks and many many more and watches - the display was very well presented and the lady gave us a great introduction to clap hams history definitely well worth a look

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    33
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clapham National Clock Museum is worth a visit”
Reviewed 27 February 2017

This museum has lots of interesting exhibits and the guided tour provided with entry price is excellent. You will know a lot more about the history and development of clocks after visiting this museum. Well worth a visit

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank ormerods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Visit to see the clocks that everyone had been talking about”
Reviewed 2 February 2017

WOW ! I had been told by previous visitors that this was THE place to visit . What a very interesting place to call into . Allow yourself plenty of time as there is lots to look at. The modest entrance fee was worth it as well.

Visited December 2016
Helpful?
Thank mars137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tempis Fugit”
Reviewed 26 January 2017

I wanted to go but my wife didn't. After the tour she said she thoroughly enjoyed it. We were guided by an expert for ten minutes and it was fun and informative, then we spent another half hour just enjoying the displays. For ten dollars it was a quality experience.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Cute, quick day out”
Reviewed 12 January 2017

For what it is, a museum of clocks, we were actually pleasantly surprised by how entertaining it was! It was also very relaxing to listen to the ticking clocks, and some very fascinating history goes with each clock.

Two for one deal if you eat at any of the basin cafes, too!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claphams Clocks - The National Clock Museum also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Claphams Clocks - The National Clock Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing