We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My go to in Whangarei for the best food and customer service!”
Review of No. 8

No. 8
Ranked #16 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: $4 - $35
Description: Asian fusion restaurant in the Whangarei Town Basin
Restaurant details
Description: Asian fusion restaurant in the Whangarei Town Basin
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have recently (a month ago) discovered this awesome restaurant, and their equally awesome staff. I am based in Auckland and I have been here multiple times since I had a taste of their kaleslaw and karaage chicken! The best food, great customer service who do the extra mile. Really worth recommending and worth visiting again and again:). Had a meeting here and service was just commendable! Everybody was attentive and really wanted to help, even with the projector😁. That is extra mile! Thanks No8 team! You are a winner!

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Myli O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2024

We usually really love the whole experience at Number 8, the decor straight off the bat puts anyone in a good mood. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. Service is swift, and professional. However, (yeah, theres a but) due to the style of ordering, as in share at least 3 - 5 plates between 2 people, and a whole lot more for a group, we have quickly exhausted the menu, and feel it needs an update, or at least have a specials board with a few surprise items. At our recent dining experience, we had the chicken curry, which was delicious, the squid, good, and finally the pork, which had a few dry pieces. Overall a really nice experience, just not a wow experience.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank holidayplace48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 January 2024 via mobile

Great customer service, generous portions, delicious cocktails. Reserving a table was easy as it gets very busy over the lunch period.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank 800LisaH800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2023

Wow what an amazing experience. Loved the decor, great service & the food was just incredible. We had the banquet for a large group - so much deliciousness!

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank RoxanneM945
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 October 2023 via mobile

Superb Asian fusion cuisine. We had a selection of the small plates with a side of bok choi. All dishes were beautifully constructed, flavored and presented. Service was well- judged and attentive. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank kiwijune
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed No. 8 also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to No. 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.