We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$95
FindHotelUS$96
eDreamsUS$87
Agoda.comUS$96
ZenHotels.com
Etrip
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
40
33
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
40
33
7
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petrol station quarry gardens room was spotless walking distance convenient location bbq area enjoyed our stay would stay here again heather motel gordon unit togs hosts wifi dairy laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2022

Another fantastic stay at Kensington Motel.
Clean and tidy as always.
Kind, friendly and helpful hosts.

Great service, especially the lovely laundry service. I was blown away to find laundry folded in basket on chair when we returned to our unit.

Great advice on the local cuisine in the area. Close to a good variety of takeaways, a restaurant, dairy, Z petrol station and other handy shops. All a hop, skip and jump away.

The only hiccup was, we forgot our togs.

Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality Heather and Gordon, for going the extra mile to make us feel welcome and comfortable, And going above and beyond which is a very rare find in hospitality these days.

Highly recommend and will definitely be back when up in Whangarei again.

Thank You

From Kylie Mills, your returnee in unit 1

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KylieMills101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2022

My family of 4 enjoyed our stay. The room is comfortable and there's a lot of space for enjoyment. The kids loved the pool, the bbq area is a great place to chill. I highly recommend this Motel to anyone. Thanks to the owners Gordon and Heather for an amazing experience. A massive plus! gym and eateries within walking distance. Fantastic location!

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11asa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2022

The hosts are steadily upgrading the rooms - but they were spotless. Easy access to rooms, all ground level. We had a great time - pool is small but perfectly adequate & BBQ area is very nice. Very comfortable rooms. Booked again already!

Date of stay: January 2022
Thank Trudy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2022 via mobile

What a little find! Super location, well appointed good sized rooms, we stayed in Unit 1, with seperate bedroom with very comfy queen bed, and single bed in the living room. Very clean and Well equipped throughout, great water pressure and wifi.
Thank you Heather and Gordon for a lovely stay, we will be back

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dougoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 December 2020 via mobile

Utterly disappointed!!!! The owner grumpily told my 8 year old daughter at 8pm, when still daylight to stop riding her newly gifted skateboard outside our room!!!! Who gets upset at the sound of happiness? The sun was still out! RUDE We didn't complain when the shower blocked with so much water it was a health hazard! Or the rooms being hot and stuffy with no airflow. If you have a young family, this motel IS NOT SUITABLE. You should state on your website, No kids allowed!!!!
No sounds of children's enjoyment allowed!!! However, late night partying, loud music & fights are most welcome after 10pm.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SamantinaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews