We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Woodinio
Wellington, NZ
Continental flare and quality.
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Apr 2022via mobile
This is a great motel.
After Easter camping washed out this was my bolt hole. I needed dry and wifi for a couple of days of work.
The management are friendly, efficient and considerate.
The room was fab- fresh, clean and spacious. With big comfy bed, FULL and well equipped kitchen (speedy convection hob and oven), the bathroom is new with a powerful hot shower. The little detail of a provincial style table [rather than ugly built in desk unit] is cute.
Double extra points for clear signed in room recycling, no single use bathroom products and they don’t take the towels when you don’t need them too!
There’s a small pool, but it was seasonally closed in mid April :(
The negatives… there’s no cafetière and the shower door leaks!
Would recommend and would happily return.
Date of stay: April 2022
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from Continental Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
2.0 km from Continental Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Continental Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
    $170
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Continental Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.0 km from Continental Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
7.9 km from Continental Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Whangarei Falls Holiday Park and YHA/BBH Backpackers
Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Lol.travel
3.4 km from Continental Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Distinction Whangarei Hotel opposite Town Basin Marina
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $240
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Continental Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
13.2 km from Continental Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $163
  • Booking.com
6.3 km from Continental Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Whangarei
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
64
23
11
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
64
23
11
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heat pump stayed here handy location well equipped kitchen would definitely stay here again pool unit motel oven countdown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2022

Ticks all the boxes for us. Stayed room 7 over Auckland Anniversary. King bed, super comfortable, A/C in the room, cooking facilities. All at the right price. Operators friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back to this motel in the future

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taumarunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2021

We visit Whangarei about once or twice a year and we often found it hard to find somewhere nice. This motel was great. The room was a bit dated but very clean. We were in a 2 bedroom unit and it was very spacious. The kitchen was well stocked. No sky tv but the wifi was great so we managed to stream with it. The pool and spa was great too on a hot day. Overall a great place to stay and we will definitely return.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank giggler12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 April 2021

When we go to Whangarei for a getaway or business, we choose to stay at the Continental Motel as it is excellent value, super clean, modern and tidy, has a pool and a spa, super close to the main shopping area as well as restaurants, supermarkets, bars ... and the owners remember us and are very friendly and welcoming. All of these things make for a great place to return to after a long day and we appreciate having this motel as a consistently great place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2021 via mobile

Nice quite friendly motel. Probably not one you would look at if you were choosing from many, which only goes to show what you don't know.
Anton was exactly the person you wanted to meet at reception after a long day on the road. So after a swim in the pool, it was of the dine out. What a great location this is, near the famous 'Jimmy Jack's Rib & Craft Bar'

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BSABCtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2020 via mobile

Travelled for seven hours with my two young children and stayed here for the night before we carried on north to BOI. The king studio is on the ground level and it was very clean and comfortable after a long time on the road. Kids and I had a lovely rest and refreshed before heading out to visit family for dinner. It was a bit too cold and wet for a swim, however we had a lovely nights’ sleep and beautiful hot showers in the morning. We also stayed here in Dec 2018 in the two bedroom unit upstairs which we loved, and have booked an overnight stay again for the four of us this Christmas. The convenience of the washing machine and dryer is fantastic too. The staff are friendly and very helpful, and checking in and out is seamless. If you’re looking for a spotless, comfortable and reasonably priced place to stay in Whangarei, then I highly recommend booking here.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank dellzsnowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews