We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$150
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
$153
Fully refundable before Fri, 8 Mar
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
$150
Fully refundable before Thu, 7 Mar
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
12
12
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
12
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2017

My wife and I stayed for four nights while having a family reunion. My wife's mother lived just across the street, just a minute's walk from our room - very convenient.

We only used the main room, keeping the door closed to the second bedroom (which had two single beds in it). This was because it was winter, and very cold to us (from tropical Cairns), and management had provided us with a fan heater - so we tried to conserve the heat in the unit.

The unit was clean and tidy, and the bed warm and comfortable. The shower was OK, but the hot water took a while to flow after turning the tap on, and then came on very hot and strong. You had to quickly turn the cold tap up, and turn down the hot tap to get it just right.

Plenty of nice fluffy towels, which were changed daily.

The only thing of any note was when a couple in the next-door unit decided to have a domestic row just outside our sliding door early one morning, shouting at each other at the top of their voices. Unwelcome when we were trying to sleep in, but not really a problem. Apart from that, everything was lovely and quiet. And the weather stayed fine throughout the time we were there.

The pool at the side was somewhat green and cloudy, but hey - it was winter, and who would want to swim anyway!

Room tip: Ground-floor units provide ease of getting your suitcases from car to room, but cars starting up and driving off early make a bit of noise.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 April 2017

Booked this motel because other reviewers said it was quiet with good wifi. It was quiet, but he wifi was awful - one bar, kept dropping out - no use for anything at all, even checking emails. Then I woke up covered in flea bites. My advice - book somewhere else. Motel 6 is down the road - I'd try that next time.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiaOra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2017

Easy parking, a small stroll to the supermarket, and I really should be keeping this place a secret. We stayed there on our way to Kaitaia and liked it so much we stayed again on our way home. It was clean and tidy and quiet, despite having two large family groups staying at the same time as us.

Room tip: Discuss the option that you want with the manager - avoid booking agencies.
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 December 2016 via mobile

A lovely Manager welcomes you to this very clean and comfortable older style Motel that is in a quiet deadend. It is just north of the main Whangerai town centre off Bank St but close enough to all the main attractions. There are plenty of good eating cafes (we loved Red Pizzeria in Kensington Ave) nearby and 2 supermarkets just opposite. We loved the serene tranquil Quarry Gardens too. If you love fresh mussels don't miss Killer Prawn Cafe in the Town Basin. YUM! We also enjoyed the scenic winding drive to Whangerai Heads.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2016

Recently stayed for one night in a 2 bedroom unit enroute to Paihia. It's in a very quiet location. Very clean and tidy with everything you need for a comfortable stay. There's a couple of restaurants plus a supermarket on the main road nearby.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews