We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Shirakl
London, United Kingdom

Good quiet but central Location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Jan 2013
We had a family room. The room are basic but spacious and have cooking facilities. Even though the motel is in a central location it is still quiet. The internet is slow and with vouchers that run out fast.
Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$170
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $170
  • Hotels.com
    $170
  • Priceline
    $170
0.7 km from Aaron Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Discovery Settlers Whangarei Exterior
$185
  • Expedia.com
    $176
  • Agoda.com
    $149
  • Priceline
    $168
0.2 km from Aaron Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$187
  • Priceline
    $187
  • Vio.com
    $190
  • eDreams
    $187
0.9 km from Aaron Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Pool
$270
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $270
  • Hotels.com
    $265
  • Priceline
    $270
1.7 km from Aaron Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$136
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $140
  • Hotels.com
    $133
  • Priceline
    $136
0.3 km from Aaron Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Bed
$165
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $165
  • Vio.com
    $165
  • eDreams
    $165
1.6 km from Aaron Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior Building
$155
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $155
  • StayForLong
  • Vio.com
    $155
2.2 km from Aaron Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Distinction Whangarei Hotel opposite Town Basin Marina
$219
  • Expedia.com
    $193
  • Agoda.com
    $187
  • Priceline
    $199
0.7 km from Aaron Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$176
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $176
  • Algotels
    $149
  • Hotels.com
    $176
5.6 km from Aaron Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$179
  • Expedia.com
    $172
  • Priceline
    $195
  • Hotels.com
    $182
12.7 km from Aaron Court Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Whangarei
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
12
12
5
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
12
12
5
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We booked this motel 6 months back, and like others were not quiet sure what its like. Need not have worried, the owners were very friendly and helpful. Although the Motel looks a bit dated from the outside the room was basic but all you need for nice stay. The New World Supermarket is just a couple of minutes walk, but if you need to go into Whangarei town you will need a car. Due to us flying in from other countries our washing needed to be sorted, and the owners wife done it for $7.
Would recommend this motel, we had room 7 on the 1st floor at the end, very nice, and no noise. Good stay, thank you

Date of stay: December 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2012

First stay at this accommodation provider as my old motel was getting a bit tired. Have to admit that I was a bit dubious once I'd made the booking, but once checked in was very relieved.
Great welcome from hosts, and was promptly address from then on in by first name. The room (6) was downstairs. Good sized room, with just what was needed for the single night stay. Bed was firm-ish (which I enjoy). Fantastic SkyTV offer, with all the channels that I have at home.
He location of the motel is to best feature. Walking distance to major supermarket, and centrally located. More importantly its centrally located. And QUIET. Oh so very quiet. Stay here if you are after that luxury

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Friendly, welcoming hosts who provided a map of the area, suggested places to visit in the time we had available and recommeded a scenic route for our onward journey.
Motel was away from the noise of the main roads, important for one couple in our party, who are from the country. We stayed in two studio units, one on the ground floor, the other upstairs.
Both were spotless and equpped with everything we needed.
This is not a motel for those who want ultra-modern, bland, soulless surroundings.
We were two couples travelling together.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spenditnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2011

We were part of a large family staying in Whangarei for a wedding. Went spent 2 nights at this motel and it was great. We have a 4 year old son with Autism, and this motel was perfect, located in a quiet area, on a dead end street, and an easy walk to the suppermarket, church etc. We could have stayed at newer motels but I am really pleased we didnt. The swimming pool was alittle cold but it was refreshing on a hot day. And the management were really friendly and helpful. If we are ever if Whangarei again we will go back to this motel.

Date of stay: January 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane255108
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 April 2010

We Stayed here on 16 Nov 2009 in Room 16. Nice King Bed, TV, Fridge, MIcrowave oven, Electric Blankets. No Air-Conditioning but it is cool in this area. Large room in a quiet location
GREAT BREALFAST

Date of stay: November 2009
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews