We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$91
eDreamsUS$91
FindHotelUS$93
Agoda.comUS$93
TripadvisorUS$91
ZenHotels.com
View all 8 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
33
36
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
33
36
7
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the owner manager short drive road noise motel accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2019 via mobile

We stayed here over New Years for 2 nights and we were hoping for a quiet couple of nights - despite it being NYE we got the restful nights we were looking for. Dave was pleasant and helpful at check in and check out. The room was very clean and the room was serviced as we were there more than 1 night. There was also the added bonus of sky tv which worked with no issues. You can walk into Whangarei in about 20 mins and the nearest food and supermarkets are about 5 mins walk. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank emsturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveA2447, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2019

Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2018 via mobile

Check-in was friendly and efficient. The room was spacious and very comfortable for 2. This is a classic style motel but well maintained and immaculately clean. The room had a well equipped kitchen. Free unlimited wifi is available. Two large supermarkets are within 200 metres walking distance. If you like a walk only 10-15 to downtown. The parking is free. The Stonehaven offers good value for money. Recommended.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RhellieKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveA2447, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

We arrived on a Tuesday evening. The ?owner/manager on reception was friendly, welcoming and informative. Our room was much bigger than we had assumed it would be and it was really clean. Crisp linen on the bed and a great kitchenette. We opted to buy dinner at the Chinese place down the road opposite the supermarkets. It was fresh and delicious, $10.50 for a container and you fill it with whatever you want from the buffet. The Stonehaven parking is a bit tight. It is a really quiet, easy to find location and the beds are comfortable. It is good value for money and we would stay again. We are 2 x adults and 1 x child.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ihiraneaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveA2447, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2018

Thank for your your review. We are happy you found everything satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Very clean and well set up, no overpowering smell of cleaner hiding other smells as happens in some motels. The room had all you needed and beds were comfortable. located on a quiet street just a few rooms, slightly dated but as stated most important spotless and comfortable. Would go back again. Close to most amenity's and good parking. Dave manager was most helpful with booking and info needed locally! Call them and book. Cheers folks. Whilst you are in Whangarei, be sure to visit the Packard museum its about 20 min drive away and it has the largest collection of Packard vehicles in the world. there are many other exhibits including many motorcycles. Also a 50 min drive North to OPUA Will show some great views.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank H9855QEjohnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveA2447, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you for your review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Whangarei.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely place, friendly owners, clean, great little kitchen with everything you need to make your own meals. Short walk to the grocery stores. Chairs outside to enjoy the fresh air. Private bathroom. Highly Recommend :)

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank amysmith1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave A, Owner at Stonehaven Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews