We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for lunch”

Omoide Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 158 Restaurants in Whangarei
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

Outstanding food at a reasonable price, perfect family lunch option especially if the kids love sushi and sashimi and if mums looking for some nutritious food.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Juicyguava
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2023

We were holidaying in Whangarei last Friday and ate at Omoide as we love Japanese food. Have to say this was one of the best Japanese meals we have had, and we have had a few, even in Japan. The food was so authentic and delicious- maybe because they had a Japanese chef, unlike a lot of NZ Japanese restaurants that have Korean chefs. Generous portions and lots of variety to chose from. Highly recommend the udon noodle bowl which I would definitely have again. Traditional Japanese decor and love that the serving staff were dressed in kimonos. They were also very helpful and welcoming. Would encourage anyone who loves Asian food to go here, and locals to support this amazing business, as you are very lucky to have it in your town. If you ever want to to set up another restaurant, please come to Whangaparaoa! :)

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank serafis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 January 2023 via mobile

My partner and I love coming here. Affordable, great service and food. We come here regularly and always have a lovely experience, it's our favourite restaurant 😊

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank Dee_Ngawaka96
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2023 via mobile

Enjoyed the food, lovely service and a nice little place to eat in peace. We did realise as we were leaving that where we were sitting (at the back) was hot, however where most diners were sitting it was nice and cool as the air con works well in the front.

The food was tasty, the prices reasonable and the miso soup was good. A good selection of food on their menu.

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank 800LisaH800
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2022

We kept going back for the Bento Box menu, like a little trip to Japan, everything done with attention to detail, super fresh, every bite a delight!

A very good price for the amount of diverse and healthy food in that box, as filling as a KFC just 10 times better...

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WildUrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Omoide Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Omoide Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.