We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slow meal that was OK”
Review of The Quay

The Quay
Reserve a table
Ranked #10 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Price range: $17 - $37
Description: Restaurant and bar New Zealand Cuisine smart casual dining on the waterfront craft beers and international wines
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant and bar New Zealand Cuisine smart casual dining on the waterfront craft beers and international wines
Reviewed 27 March 2024

We choose to book at this restaurant because of the location and the reviews it has received in general. It is clearly a busy and popular restaurant, and probably deservedly so. However, it was a busy night with a large party in progress when we arrived, and we rather got forgotten by the staff despite being seated opposite the door to the bar where they walked in and out all the time.
We waited 20 minutes for our order to be taken, a further 10 minutes for the drinks to appear, and then a further 20 minutes for the starters. The food itself was OK, nothing too special but good enough.
The whole meal took over 2 hours and there was an apology by one staff member, but overall it was not good for a high quality restaurant.
The location might save it for some.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2024

Great spot for dinner. Hardly disappointed.
Went with my cousin.
Atmosphere was great.
Sat outside.
Waitress was so lovely.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank crystal_supportlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 February 2024 via mobile

We arrived for a late Saturday lunch. There were very few patrons in the restaurant. We were summoned through a narrow passage between the bar and the kitchen to a table sandwiched between the door and the service stand. We actually didn't know to follow until the host was through the other side. The menus were basically thrown onto the table, and it was then we were informed that an extremely limited menu option was available.

We should have left at that point, but we had traveled all day and just wanted to cool our jets and experience NZ food and hospitality.

Didn't happen. The pizza had a pre-made crust, and the flavors were way off. The cheese and prosciutto tasted like yesterday's holdover. Since we were seated outside, between the window and the service stand and next to the door, we were very much in everyone's way, and it showed.

What a waste of time and money. It's definitely not an NZ moment to treasure.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Delores G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2024

Beautiful setting and great food. You will not be disappointed. Well located in the center of town.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2024 via mobile

Great staff, great selection on the menu. The cafe/restaurant itself was really well maintained and it has a really nice view when sitting outside.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Getaway43628830456
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Quay also viewed

 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to The Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.