We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ribs to die for”

Jimmy Jacks Rib Shack & Craft Bar
Ranked #33 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Description: A rocking good feed for great people Stonegrill classics, lobster steam Pots, BBQ Steakhouse classics and some of the best deserts, craft beers and ciders come on down
Restaurant details
Description: A rocking good feed for great people Stonegrill classics, lobster steam Pots, BBQ Steakhouse classics and some of the best deserts, craft beers and ciders come on down
Reviewed 28 April 2024

When we arrived to the restaurant, we were immediately greeted by our waitress who then directed us to our booked table, but because it really wasn't where we wanted, she told us to choose whichever table we wanted. She immediately showed us the menus and then took our drinks order 2 cocktails, 1 jug of larger and a double whiskey, when she arrived with our drinks she took our food order and within 5 mins we had our food...amazing as we were really hungry.
We ordered Jimmy rib tester which came with a side of fries, triple custom combo with 80g rump, 80g lamb and 80g chicken with a side of coleslaw and salad, Pork belly sliders, Fried chicken and ribs combo which came with fries and onion rings, cheesy pull-apart loaf, and finally Maryland crab dip which came with french bread toast and nacho chips. Everything was amazing, tasty and cooked to perfection. The lamb/rump/chicken came on a hot rock, where you cooked it the way you wanted, although the chicken came already cooked and was on the hot rock just to keep warm. As it was a birthday lunch they gave a brownie with cream...and a song, for free, we also ordered the ice-cream sundae which 2 of us shared....the meat just came away from the bone yummy yummy yummy yummo and would definitely recommend this place, for either family, friends, or just for couples.
Our entire bill for thek four of us, with drinks was only $262.00 and I tipped B our waitress $20.00 because she went over and above for us

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mihiata C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2024

Called in for lunch on a really bad weather day.
Just wanted a snack so shared a calamari and chicken wings, delicious.
Some really nice beer as well!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mart888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024 via mobile

Jimmy Jack's is a great favourite of my partner. We took the kids and small Grandies for dinner and the staff were great. They didn't bat an eye at Mr 2 3/4 wee meltdown and interacted wonderfully with both little ones. Service was fast and friendly and the ribs are always brilliant.

Thank you Jimmy Jack's, see you next time we're in town.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Kirstin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 November 2023

Avoid! Awful chemical taste on the steak that came on the hot stone. Sausage was cold in the middle on another person's plate. Bbq sauce was very bland. Salad tasted of rotten veg. I'm not sure how much longer this place will stay in business with food that bad. Best guess is this place is faking positive reviews.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lavenderd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2023 via mobile

The sign at the entrance apologised for long waits due to staff shortages. But in fact it was the opposite. Fast excellent service, top quality food. Over all a very enjoyable experience. Not what we read on the internet reviews.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank Boltman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Jimmy Jacks Rib Shack & Craft Bar also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Jimmy Jacks Rib Shack & Craft Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.