We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and food.”

Jimmy Jacks Rib Shack & Craft Bar
Ranked #35 of 158 Restaurants in Whangarei
Description: A rocking good feed for great people Stonegrill classics, lobster steam Pots, BBQ Steakhouse classics and some of the best deserts, craft beers and ciders come on down
Restaurant details
Description: A rocking good feed for great people Stonegrill classics, lobster steam Pots, BBQ Steakhouse classics and some of the best deserts, craft beers and ciders come on down
Reviewed 22 July 2023 via mobile

The sign at the entrance apologised for long waits due to staff shortages. But in fact it was the opposite. Fast excellent service, top quality food. Over all a very enjoyable experience. Not what we read on the internet reviews.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank Boltman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2023

Ordered nachos and chowder. Took a long time for order to come, asked the waitress when will our order be ready because people who came in after us received their meals, she said 3 to 4 minutes. Six minutes went past still no meals so we got up to walk out and chowder came out the same time, I said no thanks and we walked out.

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank dolly268
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 June 2023 via mobile

We went here as a family of 4 for my husbands birthday dinner. We'd booked a table and once seated, waited 20 odd minutes for a server to come back to our table to take our drinks and food order. We ordered 3 main meals and my daughter ordered a starter and side for her dinner. (it was never said these were for entree, she'd ordered them as her meal) The drinks arrived fairly quickly as did my daughters meal. Unfortunately it was well after she'd finished that a server came back our way so I could get her attention and ask where the rest of the meals were. 2 other tables that arrived well after us already had theirs. When they finally arrived, 1 hour after we were seated, 1 ribs & chicken (served on a prison like metal tray with greaseproof paper that just rips) and 2 stonegrills, we were apparently told no sauce or pepper on the stonegrill and mind your fingers. After she left, we started to cook and eat. I definately used salt, possibly used a little pepper as force of habit more than anything, not because I was purposely trying to break any rules and couldn't actually 100% recall it. The 80gm portions were very small, as expected, but very unfair to have inedible sinew attached to such small pieces as well. The sous vide chicken had some kind of flavouring on it that was not expected, not very pleasant and tainted the rest of the meat. After about 10 minutes the server came back to ask 'how is your meal, have you burnt you fingers and did you use pepper', My son had asked why no pepper but got no response. We said no as honestly didn't recall if used pepper or not. She then went on to say she was 'trying to get to the bottom of this!' ummm trying to get to the bottom of WHAT exactly? She'd didn't explain and disappeared. We were left feeling confused and like we'd been told off as naughty children. Honestly, what restaurant tells you not to season your own meal. Maybe explain it better like 'mind your fingers, it's hot. Please don't use sauces or pepper because...' explain Why, we've still no idea and saying no pepper in the middle it was just lost in the instructions! There was no where to put the meat off the stone to even use seasoning/sauce. You could even tell customers when they order that they are not allowed to season with pepper so they can choose another meal if they wish, to be able to season their food. This just put me off my dinner completely. We left there feeling like we'd been seated in the naughty corner, ignored, undervalued and told off like we'd committed some crime. Great way to end a birthday, NOT!

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2023

The staff at Jimmy Jacks were SO lovely. Our car had broken down and we ended up spending the majority of out day figuring out what to do in Jimmy Jacks, the food was yummy and we were just so grateful for Pippa and the team for being so kind and helpful to us! We will definitely be back again!

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Bethan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2022 via mobile

I was impressed by the quick service! Love the squid 🦑 fresh and delicious. But worst fish and chips i ever had taste fishy and got bitter taste and it - the rest did not eat their burgers hope this improves to keep the customer coming

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank Curiosity714544
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Jimmy Jacks Rib Shack & Craft Bar also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Jimmy Jacks Rib Shack & Craft Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.