We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sushi, delicious ”
Review of Suncourt Sushi

Suncourt Sushi
Ranked #56 of 159 Restaurants in Whangarei
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We stopped by for a quick late lunch, easy to find on the main shopping street. This is clearly a very popular sushi shop. Absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. Immaculate restroom.

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank twebb21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

It was one of those weeks when we couldn't get the weekly shopping done until a Saturday. And we'd left for town too late to grab an early lunch. So we landed in the CBD with the idea of having a quick lunch in order to get to all the shops we needed to visit before they closed.

Parking in town on a weekday is always a challenge - particularly as the local council seems have an agenda to cut down on CBD parking and force everyone onto bicycles or walking from far flung parking areas. So we were pleased to find an empty space right on Cameron Street close to all the CBD shops we planned to visit.

We also noticed that we were nearly in front of a sushi place we'd never noticed before. We decided to check the place out and decided to stay for a late lunch.

There's a rule we always follow when considering ethnic food outlets. When looking for the most authentic (and best, in my opinion) Mexican food in California, etc, we look to see if their are Mexican-Americans inside. If it's in NZ and we're looking for Asian food we look to see if there are Asian customers. I know that this is what some people consider to be "profiling" and politically incorrect. But when it comes to food, I'm right into common sense.

Anyway ... even if it was late the place was packed with Asian customers.

Now we've been to a number of sushi cafes and once it gets to a certain time, they stop making fresh sushi and the choices are very, very limited. Not so at Suncourt Sushi. There was still plenty of choice and everything looked fresh and inviting.

All my choices involved seafood and most of my wife's were tempura prawns or chicken. The rice was moist, but firm and didn't show signs of drying out. It all seemed fresh. And both of our lunches were tasty and satisfying. Our choices (on a plate, although there are take-away packs as well) came with wasabi and ginger, with soy sauce on the tables.

The tables and seating were utilitarian but comfortable. Though the place had little decoration it was very clean and uncluttered despite all the coming and going. And, thankfully, even though the place was packed we weren't assaulted by the din we've come to expect from Asian foodhalls. It was open to the footpath and street, but quiet and serene.

The service was very efficient and friendly and we decided that we'd like to come back again.

As we finished off our lunch an Asian couple with a child took a table that had just been vacated. Within seconds it had been cleared and cleaned by one of the staff. The man went up to the counter and brought back some sushi for the child. Odd, we thought. Maybe they just came in to feed the child. Then, a few minutes later, platters of hot food arrived for the adults.

That's when my wife noticed the menu signage on the walls above one of the self-serve cabinets and discovered that there was a whole range of food we hadn't noticed before. Various ramen and udon noodle dishes as well as sashimi dishes. No wonder there were so many Asian customers. We'll definitely be back.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PerfectStrangerNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This place has been best sushi selection in Whangarei (and there a lot to choose from) + a good selection of plated meals aswell. It is also a cut above any other sushi place in town for the ambience and the excellent seating.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANDYCHEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

Really good and fresh sushi, well presented, nice staff who was looking after to top up the self-service buffet whenever something was half empty. Being gluten free myself I asked for gluten free soysauce and they had some behind the counter, awesome!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank BayBeachHire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Yummy! They have synch an awesome variety, hot and cold, meals that you order are delicious too
HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank michellesW2683SO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Suncourt Sushi also viewed

Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
Whangarei, Northland Region
 
Whangarei, Northland Region
 

Been to Suncourt Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing