We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An experience never to be forgotten

We had an amazing time on the river, with great scenery and vistas. This is not for the faint... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2020
daryleliza59
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
AN excellent three day trip

Wanganui River Canoes organise a great trip down the river. YOu book your accomodation through... read more

Reviewed 30 April 2018
25Trishy
,
Feilding, New Zealand
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
18
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I just recently finished a five day excursion with Jamie and Sarah down the Whanganui. This trip was amazing. Jamie and Sarah were extremely courteous and helpful hosts. Jaime's knowledge of the river and the overall history of New Zealand in general was second to none. They supplied us with everything we needed for camp and canoeing. They even offered us rain gear in case we needed it. Tents, air mattresses and pillows were all top notch. Both Sarah and Jamie were also a delight to speak with and socialize. We definitely never had a dull moment between the four of us. Food was delicious with a variety of dinners, great lunches and warm breakfasts every day. The scenery was to die for. We have never seen so many waterfalls in our life in such a short amount of time. The wildlife was also great. Every morning we woke to amazing bird songs. I would highly recommend this journey to anyone visiting New Zealand or just wanting a get away. We were looking for a multi day backpacking trip and are so glad we chose this instead. Thank you Jamie and Sarah this trip will be something we will never forget.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank travo4381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We booked a 3 day trip down the River as a social trip for work. Jamie and the team really looked after us. Couldn't have been better. We met at the Blue Duck Cafe, Whakahoro, part of Blue Duck Station where we got the history of the Station and the work they are doing on pest control to help the native blue duck, after getting transported in from Taumarunui. After dinner (great)and breakfast (also great) at the cafe, the next morning we set off down the river. Jamie had all the gear covered and the equipment was in great condition. All the bases were covered from organising our car storage, transport, to food and equipment. All the feed back from the crew has been positive - highly recommended.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank mcmad42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2016

I recently completed an outstanding five-day canoe trip with Unique Whanganui River Experience. I feel most fortunate that one of the companies that rents all the necessary gear for this type of adventure had recommended this company as the best way for me to enjoy this beautiful River! Unique Whanganui River Experience is Jamie Anderson, a highly experienced guide who knows each and every part of the River like the back of his hand! Jamie is a highly professional guide and always keeps the safety of his clients in mind. Jaime, in addition to be a highly skilled/experienced guide, is a tremendous storyteller and historian, always willing to share a story, joke or anecdote relating to the River. Jamie did a super job of selecting campsites and huts for our trip. He is also a fantastic cook, as he prepared all of our meals while on the River! The food was both plentiful and delicious! I especially appreciated Jaime's timely instructions on how to best navigate our canoes through the more challenging Rapids! We did not tip our canoes even once! I should also mention that Jaime emphasized the cultural aspects of this trip, focusing on the Maori culture and history of the area. I highly recommend Jaime and Unique Whanganui River Experience as the best way to enjoy a guided canoe or kayaking trip on the Whanganui River!

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

A 5 day experience of real genuine passion and commitment. An excellent knowledge of the river, its history and its foibles. Good to work with and a fun sense of humour.
Had a lot of fun.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank GrahamYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Jamie's knowledge of the Whanganui river along with his love and respect for it made this a truly memorable trip. The meals were amazing.. roast dinners and blueberry muffins cooked in a camp oven at remote locations! Totally recommend this if you have the opportunity!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Peregrinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews