We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
An experience never to be forgotten

We had an amazing time on the river, with great scenery and vistas. This is not for the faint... read more

Reviewed 27 February 2020
daryleliza59
,
Northampton, United Kingdom
via mobile
AN excellent three day trip

Wanganui River Canoes organise a great trip down the river. YOu book your accomodation through... read more

Reviewed 30 April 2018
25Trishy
,
Feilding, New Zealand
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
18
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016

A 5 day experience of real genuine passion and commitment. An excellent knowledge of the river, its history and its foibles. Good to work with and a fun sense of humour.
Had a lot of fun.

Date of experience: December 2015
Thank GrahamYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2016

Jamie's knowledge of the Whanganui river along with his love and respect for it made this a truly memorable trip. The meals were amazing.. roast dinners and blueberry muffins cooked in a camp oven at remote locations! Totally recommend this if you have the opportunity!

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Peregrinak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2015

Our group of 11 had an amazing time with Jamie. We slept in roomy tents with fantastic inflatable mattresses. Incredible meals appeared from the camp oven, including morning teas and desert. We were very safely guided down the river with information stops along the way. This is an area rich in history, much of which Jamie could tell us. Thoroughly enjoyed this 'unique' experience and can highly recommend.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank sallyw670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2015

Two hours on the Whanganui river on a Saturday morning was a great way to show my visiting Aunt the sites. Hint ...don't wear white! The coal ash does settle on your clothes.

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank nzguern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2015

My Family and I did the 5 day canoe tour down the Whanganui River by our tour guide Jamie. Jamie made the whole experience so worth while with his knowledge of the river and its history, his oustanding camp cooking and his sense of humour. The trip can be made with other groups, but this is by far the most enjoyable with Jamie's cooking, knowledge and help from his little outboard motor (for the long still straights of river). I can't recommend doing this trip enough but only with Jamie!

Date of experience: March 2015
Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews