We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$91
eDreamsUS$91
FindHotelUS$91
Agoda.comUS$91
TripadvisorUS$91
Expedia.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
251
125
12
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
251
125
12
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street within easy walking distance town centre quiet location comfortable bed free wifi well equipped kitchen great place to stay virginia lake cooking facilities enjoyable stay would definitely stay here again night stay clean rooms great value for money the river motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 388 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2021

Me and my friends had a lovely stay at this motel, owners are lovely and even got to see there dog. Very cute! Clean and fresh rooms. The pillows were very comfy to! And also the heated mattress was so warm and lovely!

Date of stay: June 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank erinhyde99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2021 via mobile

Stayed for one night as a stop over between West and East coast. Postives: quiet location, clean and tidy room. Ample sized space for two people, well equipted kitchen, parking outside the door to the unit. Friendly and helpful staff. Negatives: bed was not a pocket spring design so very easy to cause partner disturbance, cold room with only a small fan heater for heating.
Overall a good stay and value for money - would stay again.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SandK91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 May 2021 via mobile

Lovely comfortable motel in the heart of the town, with everything you could need for a motel stay. Comfortable beds with great bathroom and fully stocked kitchen, and quite. We could park up and walk up the town to the river. The lovely hosts Mandy and husband were a great help with local knowledge. Would recommend this accommodation .

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank naki54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2021

Great location and very clean and quiet. The motel minders, Shelagh and Ross, were most helpful and hospitable. Easy walk into town. Outdoor tables by each unit with chairs. We did enjoy our stay here.

Date of stay: May 2021
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2021

We had been staying at this property multiple times in the last few years but things have changed. Our stay required a quiet room as we were visiting the town for a competition & the new owners assured us every room is quiet. However that is not the case. We stayed in room #4 and on two nights (out of 4) there were people drinking & talking loudly outside our room until at least 10pm (the 1st night was till 10.30pm when the owners told them to pack up).
There is also a very bright floodlight in the neighbouring car yard over the back fence that shines into the room.
The mattress on the bed is also very soft, to the extent that on a shared bed, if someone moves, the other person is awoken.
During our 4-night stay, the kettle shorted out the electricity supply but the owners replaced it immediately with no further issues.

The new owners are lovely and friendly and are making efforts to upgrade the rooms. Perhaps things might be better in the future.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 155victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul and Mandy Evans, Owner at Kings Court Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2021

Hi Victoria, thanks for taking the time to post a review. We regularly have guests comment on how quiet the Motel is in terms of lack of noise from the surrounding area, especially as we are so centrally located. We do have notices in our rooms, and in the in-room compendiums, asking guests to be respectful of others late at night and early in the morning. Unfortunately not everyone reads or respects such requests and we do occasionally have to ask people to desist if they are talking outside at a late hour. Thankfully this does not happen often but can happen at any Motel and we are sorry that you had your sleep disturbed during your stay. The lights from the neighbouring car yard is being dealt with by the use of additional blinds at the back windows and, as you have noted, we are completing other upgrades to the rooms, including the beds. We hope to see you again next time you are in Whanganui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews