We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
47
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
47
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car across the river mountain biking unique accommodation whanganui river yogurt hot shower self catering bed was very comfortable kelly glory cart cottage property accommodations walnuts hosts
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

You need no more reason than the Flying Fox to visit Whanganui. Spectacular location and real retreat. We stayed in the Brewers Cottage. It is beautifully maintained and quirky, with all the amenities and added special touches.
Kelly & Jane are the perfect hosts - friendly and extremely welcoming, but also give you the space and freedom to relax.
A real home from home (with Jane's ice-cream made from home-grown organic produce).
It is a bit of a drive from Whanganui but it is well worth it. Once you arrive (in style via the flying fox - what an entrance), you will feel no need to go any further.
The Flying Fox is environmentally friendly and has a great ethos.
Cannot recommend highly enough (I will definitely try to coordinate another visit!)

Room Tip: If you are looking for budget accommodation they do offer camping
Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
Thank tinanurse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

You must book this place. We were lucky enough to have four nights in the glory cart just after Christmas. The peace, quiet and beauty of this place was exactly what we needed after a long and busy year.

Arriving on the cable car was our first taste of the special place that the flying fox really is. Kelly and Jane were available, friendly and interesting. They provided a wealth of knowledge about the local area, the history of the flying fox, and allsorts of things for us to do. Kelly even organised our mountain biking trip (with bridge to nowhere who I would also recommend)

If you want to get away from it all, fully relax and be at one with nature this is the place. I 100% recommend this wonderful piece of kiwi paradise...and the homemade ice cream.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JenniferB9030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We spent two days here and it was great fun. If traveling by road as we did, parking is down a steep track, alternatively on the hard standing adjacent to the road. Access to the site is via a fun cable car ride which makes for a great start to your stay.

Our accommodation was was in the Brewers Cottage, quaint and quirky with lots of interesting objet d'art. You can take your own food, but we would recommend you have a meal provided by Jane and Kelly. The food was really excellent and great value for money. A small shop on site has wine, beer, bread, milk and various home made ice creams.

There are a couple of short walks along the riverside, but if you don't mind a bit of sweat and toil a steep track up to the top of the hill is worth the effort. There are a couple of areas where you can get a great views albeit through the foliage.

A tip if your car is low powered: before leaving the bottom car park open the gate towards the top, this gives you a good run up the track to the road, rather than having to do a steep hill start.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016

Our family enjoyed one of their catered winter lunches and spent a couple of hours at the property being shown around the various accommodations and gardens. The hosts are welcoming and relaxed and seemed happy to spend time with us answering questions, without encroaching on our family time. The cable car access across the river is a wonderful thing too. The only downside is perhaps the drive up the river to access the property. Make sure you factor in around 40-60mins for travel time. The driveway is also gravel and would be best approached in a four-wheel drive vehicle. Alternatively you could perhaps park at the top on the road and walk down (which is what some of our party did quite comfortably).

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TeamIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

What a great place! From the moment you step foot in the flying fox you know you're in for an experience. Kelly and Jane are lovely and looked after us really well. The place has a lovely feel to it. Lovely dinner on the deck overlooking the river. Kind of hoped the flying fox might break overnight so we could stay for another day ha ha.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews