We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
50
37
10
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
50
37
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceiling fan sirloin steak craft beer risotto high ceilings homemade muesli portion sizes lovely old hotel off street parking period furniture spur of the moment old style delicious meal room service great room cooked breakfast spa bath
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2018 via mobile

This Hotel is over 100 years old so if you are looking for modern, I do not recommend this place, however the staff here are very friendly, the beds are comfortable and it's very clean. It can get noisy at night. The restaurant down stairs is the best place to eat in Whanganui however.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Tripit-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018 via mobile

Good value. Clean. Old style bedroom with recently renovated bathroom. We got the included basic breakfast: tea/coffee, 2 toasts, Weetbix with berry confit. If you're a light sleeper use earplugs as loud drunk people talk outside the pub exit til well past midnight.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank neeravbhatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

The Eggs Benedict my husband and I had for breakfast were very good and we'd rate them 7.5-8/10. The eggs were poached to perfection but sadly the hollandaise sauce was only a little above lukewarm and the bacon had a lot of fat on it. Nonetheless the food was nicely presented and overall tasted good (although we cut the fat off the bacon). The big disappointment for us was the duty manager's attitude. We asked her for a separate pot of hot water to dilute the tea when we poured it from the teapot into our cups. She didn't answer us but walked away and then went on to serve a couple of customers who arrived while we made our request. The dining had only a handful of customers yet we had to wait for just over five minutes before we got the pot of hot water. Would I go back to the Rutland Arms Inn for breakfast again? No not after not being treated as we were this morning.

Room tip: We only had breakfast at Rutland Arms in so cannot comment on the hotel accommodation offering.
Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Coastgirl48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

I stay in a lot of establishments and wonder where the exceed a customers expectations had gone.

Yep! It’s here

The room was clean and well presented.
Check in simple and fast
Was taken to the room
Showed where I could park my car and given a small tour

Brilliant service
A great room
Great brekkie on check out.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank StephenF157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Chose this hotel to stay on a whim and was not disappointed. Greeted by a very friendly staff member who showed us all over the hotel and the facilities around our room. Very friendly and welcoming bar staff and hotel was warm and comfortable, even in the upstairs passageways. Lovely communal lounge upstairs was complimented by easy access to our safely parked vehicles out the back of the establishment. Room had a gorgeous view out onto the street. During the evening it did become a little rowdy with various bars and clubs releasing patrons onto the street (not the fault of our hosts however) a police car cleared most of these stragglers up by siren at 4am! Good lighting in the room and a nice selection of teas especially. Bathroom was clean and tidy. The floor reflects the fact that the building is elderly but this is part of its charm. Beautiful antique-feel furniture with a table and chairs perfect for watching the world go by. The following morning had a delicious breakfast (great menu available and the chef is a genius). A very hassle-free and comfortable stay over a cooler period of the year but definitely a warm and welcoming hotel. Was impressed.

Room tip: Would recommend the Collinson Suite as it looks out at a side street rather than the main drag.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews