We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
9
20
14
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
20
14
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable roomsgood sizeroom serviceone night stayoakspillowswanganuimotel
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We were on a one night stay on the way to Wellington and so weren’t able to sample the wider Wanganui area with its activities. This hotel would be a great place as a centre for such an investigation. It is located on the edge of town away from the main road and is a 20-25 minute walk to the centre of Wanganui so plan your excursions downtown for food etc with this in mind.

The reception staff are friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and pleasant and a good place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jon_Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018 via mobile

Its a struggle to find a decent hotel with in room dining in whanganui. I arrived here and was dissappointed from the outside, she is rather tired. To my delighted surprise my room was lovely spacious very clean and nice light with a refurbished immaculate bathroom. The menu has a great selection I had eye fillet which was beautiful but was under cooked so I didnt eat the medium rare bits. I had room service as you do you when your on your own and away from home for work didnt take very long even though they were clearly very busy. Staff were informative and very helpful.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
Thank Jaja69_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

This motel is in a residential area way from the main road where most of the motels / hotels are situated. It is secluded and quiet, except on the odd occasion when a train goes past and blows it whistle. Comfortable rooms and very friendly staff. The centre of town is just about within walking distance.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Decided to stop here overnight because of the good reviews we read. We we're given a good price on a family room since it was just my hubby & I, few secs later the lady at reception had to change the price because apparently they were busy.
Room was ok but wouldn't rave about it & too overpriced we made a mistake by booking here. On the plus side, the food at the restaurant & wait staff absolutely amazing loved loved loved it. Def be back for the dining again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Frank and Tina ... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

Its a struggle to find somewhere good to dine in Wanganui but friends had suggested The Oaks at Collegiate Motor Inn so we decided to give it a try. So glad we did, the food was excellent as was the service. The actual restaurant was a wee bit noisey only because of a couple of families dining with children who just wanted to run around and play. Putting that aside though it was very pleasant once they left. The steaks were cooked perfectly. There was no long drawn out wait between courses even though they seemed to be fairly busy. Would come back again and hopefully next time leave a bit of room for dessert.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank joanne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews