We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
151 on London(Whanganui)
US$106
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiesta Court Motel(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Astral Motel & Apartments(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverview Motel(Whanganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Whanganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverside Motel(Whanganui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
25
28
14
3
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
28
14
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew ownersadventure playgroundholiday parkminute walk to the beachrelaxed spotcamping groundsmall swimming poolloved our staymain townmotor homelarge kitchenvery pleasant staywould stay here againpowered siteacross the roadgreat facilitiesstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

After traveling Stratford Wanganui and shopping it was a pleasant surprise to find such a nice Holiday Park near the sea side with a very welcoming Manager and a favourable rate of 20$ for a single traveler. Beautiful garden setting, power sites to my likings, swimming pool too small and cold for me. Not crowded at all - it's off-season - and enjoyable. Good I returned to Wanganui

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed for four nights and really enjoyed our stay, loved how close it is to the Beach and Playground.....so did our kids. We experienced a very peaceful and private stay, lovely clean facilities and our cabin was spacious and comfortable, the Pool and Spa were a great added bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

If it's a romantic get away you're after then you're in the wrong place. We were accompanied into Whanganui by 6 police cars who were raiding a residential establishment in the next street. Obviously this was not the fault of the Holiday Park, but not a great 1st impression, and only emphasised what a mistake we had made in not checking the area out properly before booking.

The site is next to the sea, but it's also next to a run down industrial estate and miles away from the town.

The holiday park itself isn't actually too bad, but we stayed in the 'fishermans cottage' which sound nice don't ya think? Sadly you'd be mistaken as they are in dire need of dragging into the 21st century. From the lino lined shower unit (I kid you not) to the water damaged bedroom walls, and the randomly gurgling toilet which seemed to kick in whenever someone else on the site flushed.

If you're in a campervan, this is an ok stop off point on the way to somewhere nice, just don't book it for the week.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank ItsTheLittleThings22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed a night here in one of the motel units. It was fairly small, but very tidy and clean. The park has quite a good pool and a spa and sauna (we didn't check out the later two). It's a fair way out of town, but a big playground and the beach are less than five minutes walk away, so that makes up for a lot. There's a general store across the street that does very tasty fish and chips. Overall, recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustineL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park for 6 nights. We stayed in in the Seaspray Cottage (or Woodys Cottage), which has a double bed, kitchenette and bathroom.

Overall, we were satisfied with our stay and we would stay again. but there are lessons learned!

Management were friendly enough, but not particularly proactive. After we booked, it was hard to get any info from them. But face to face they were OK.

This was very comfortable, but small. The facilities were adequately clean. The bed was comfortable. it was nice to have a table to eat at.

The bathroom was OK, not luxurious, but it was clean and fine. The sink was unnecessarily small, which was really frustrating.

The kitchenette was small, and only basically equipped. I was pleased that i brought my camp cooker and some other stuff. There was enough equipment to make basic meals. But the layout was not efficient and could become frustrating.

we had a look around the park. the bathrooms, laundry and pool are fine. the kitchen facilities are not as good as most other parks we stayed at. the gardens were nice, but i think they need a lot more shaded areas or shady trees for sitting and relaxing around. next time, we will bring our own sun shade to relax under.

i think that some maintenance and upgrades are really, really, really needed.

it is a short distance to to beach and a great play area for kids. we didn't bring our kid this time, but i think he would have loved this spot.

it's a distance from the main town, but this made it great as it was peaceful.

Room Tip: i think you need to expect a small space when you come. make sure you ask about the facilities of each room, as they all differ.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yippopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews