We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (112)
Filter reviews
112 results
Traveller rating
72
25
5
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
72
25
5
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jet boat canoe trip whanganui river hot shower area's history new zealand other guests fantastic stay yogurt joe pipiriki canoeing gear rapids quad retreat plugs
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 112 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

We spent 1 Saturday night here and loved it. This is a unique part of NZ history. The lodge has an amazing relaxing feel to it. Very old fashioned country service. Staff are extremely helpful and hospitable. The rooms are basic but adequate and there is no need to spend time in your room when there is plenty of outdoor space to sit and a large indoor lounge. The deck overlooking the river is great. There are only 2 toilets in the lodge but never a queue. The showers clearly weren't much and perhaps we should have skipped a shower that day as a hand wash would have been more useful.
There were a total of 12 staying and the mix of people was interesting with us all sharing a delicious roast dinner together at a long table. This place should be on every tourists list as it really packages everything about NZ into one place. Only accessible by river. Sheets and towels provided.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Alipa50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTNLodge, Owner at Bridge to Nowhere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Thank you so much for your review. Great description of the Lodge. The showers...well... come back next year and they will be greatly improved. Always interesting to see what mix of nationalities we are having in the Lodge for the night! A great place to met new and interesting people.
Thanks again Mandy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

Absolutely blown away with how perfectly our weekend went, with much thanks to the crew from the BTN Lodge. As kiwis on a budget, we rarely consider using tour operators, but we will definitely be returning with this one. Flexible, accommodating, welcoming, trustworthy. Everything you could want for a brief adventure in such a wild and beautiful landscape. Even though we booked our trip the day before, they happily met us with jetboats, canoes and lodging. Thanks for being a part of one of the best weekends I've had in my own country. Awesome to also meet the river now it's recognised as "a person".

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTNLodge, Owner at Bridge to Nowhere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Hi There Lucy

Great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much. It can be challenging to keep it real for NZers as well as for other tourists from overseas.

We are really keen for Kiwis to see how spectacular their own country is.Travelling into the NZ wilderness is something I hope we have made affordable for NZ families.

Time wise we are only 30 minutes drive and 30 minutes by jet boat away from SH4 but in reality we are worlds apart.

Hope to see you again some time!

Warm regards Mandy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2017

spent 3 nights and 4 Days canoeing the amazing wanganui river for my Brothers 50th.. 2 night in tents meant we were really looking forward to the lodge. for a night of celebrations... thanks for taking our gear to the lodge on your 4 wheeler...we needed that... thanks for the hot shower... I was first in...others not so lucky. we had asked for some salads to be made and they were huge and so very tasty.. thank you...chickens were cooked in no time and we had a wonderful evening..even the cake was great- bought up by friends on the jet boat- I think we even fed some hungry
campers..... great place in the middle of no where... wonderful hosts, and a bambi as well to entertain the 5 year old...and views to die for..... and not a car in sight....perfection...we will be back.. and thankyou

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeeE58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTNLodge, Owner at Bridge to Nowhere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Thanks for your great review! Glad to hear that you all enjoyed your brothers 50th Birthday celebrations. Yes it is pretty cool up here at the Lodge. Hope you get a chance to come back some time, see how fast our deer grows!
Mandy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

Hard to believe that this sort of place still exists! Remote and scenic, hosts are welcoming to what is a working farm that does tourism. Rooms comfortable. Food great and just what us tired cyclists wanted!!!
Loved the encounter with Bambi and all the other animals. Also great value. Donut Dave also fantastic tour guide and boat skipper. Small issue with shower - need to sort that out otherwise cant fault the place. Will be back when river is not in flood and trails ridable.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTNLodge, Owner at Bridge to Nowhere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Yes we are definitely something different that you dont get to see just anywhere! Thanks for your review. Showers are a priority this winter when we are closed!~
Mandy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

A simple hotel looking over the Whanganui river, near the track to the Bridge to Nowhere. Great location, expansive views from the deck, friendly, country food, temperamental showers, OK rooms, shared bathrooms, interesting mix of people staying. A night's stay makes a good break in what is otherwise a full day (jetboat up the river an hour from Pipiriki, 45 minute hike each way to the Bridge to Nowhere, 4 hours canoes trip back down through a beautiful gorge to Pipiriki - available as a package).

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BTNLodge, Owner at Bridge to Nowhere Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Thanks for your review. The Lodge is definitely one of a kind in the area and as you said amazing views. The showers are going to be fully re done over the winter period so hopefully next season they will be awesome. When you think that all materials to build the Lodge and all furniture was brought up by jet boat and then transported up the hill you realise what a special place it is. We run on rain water but also have a spring, generator and solar power and septic tanks. Amazing that it is here at all! The Lodge is often like a United Nations with apart from our Kiwi staff a mixture of clients from Germany France UK Israel Canada Australia US and everything in between! Always makes for an interesting night!
Thanks again Mandy :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews