We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Great location, good food, all the amenities we could ask for and exceptional service from the team... down to setting up a tv and seating for us to watch the MotoGP after the bars had closed... made our weekend and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 707sandrajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2016

Recently attended The Labour Region Three Conference that was held here at the Grand. The venue hosted brilliantly with morning and afternoon teas and a great Saturday night dinner which even catered to the two vegetarians. Tipples are available next door at Breakers, and some participants from out of town took advantage of the room serviec and room booking up stairs. Very handy!

Room Tip: I didn;t stay there myself as I am local so this review is about the conference facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Artisteyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The hotel is a beautiful old building but the updates have been odd and are definitely out of date. The place made me feel uneasy like it held such a history perhaps it could be haunted. This was the third place we booked through booking.com based on reviews and scores and after this we went to air BNB if that tells you anything. Been much happier.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ketchwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Thanks for your review. I can assure this building isnt haunted.
Glad you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.
Kind regards,
The Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016

We had an enjoyable stay at the Grand Hotel. It is so central to the shopping area and local amenities. We loved the old world charm of the historic building, with the lovely big tubs of gorgeous flowers all around the access to the hotel. Everything was fresh and clean. Our room was quite spacious and we had a small table and chairs to sit at and we had the bonus of a little balcony. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the continental breakfast and had a great pub meal in the bar at night. Overall we had a great experience for our time in Wanganui catching up with family and friends.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet as it was against the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank theriversiders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2016

Thank you for taking the time to writing a lovely review. Yes, we try very hard to keep everything fresh and clean. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.
Kind regards,
The Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016

The guy on reception said it all when he said " some people are disappointed "
The old accommodation part is used for a few itinerant workers and so we were given a room in the 1970's extension ..Small a little rundown and depressed like the rest of the place. Like an old motel room .
I think that is were I got a lot of bites from Bed Bugs .. they showed prominently a day later and were with me all my trip (the bites not the bugs) .
WE ate elsewhere as they place was virtually deserted ..and did not fancy eating there.
The breakfast was just adequate and very limited tea and toast. extra for anything else. and as dated as the hotel...
The staff lady who replenished the food at breakfast was friendly .. one of the only positive notes ..
I do not Recommend
B

Room Tip: Stay some place else ...motel would even be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MartyDownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you for your review. We go to great lengths keeping our beds fresh and clean, the beds are also serviced with clean linen daily from a professional linen service. I can assure you our hotel does not possess bed bugs. The old hotel is enjoyed by many guests and has recently undergone a refurbishment. Yes our free contential breakfast is adequate and yes your are able to purchase other cooked items. Unfortunately a scroll on the grass could of also generated some pest bites. Kind regards, The Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
2.1 km away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.4 km away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
79 reviews
0.9 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Astral Motel & Apartments
Astral Motel & Apartments
#15 of 26 in Whanganui
59 reviews
0.4 km away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
57 reviews
0.6 km away
Kings Court Motel
Kings Court Motel
#2 of 26 in Whanganui
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Corner St. Hill & Guyton Streets, Whanganui 4541, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: $105 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing