We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in city center location”
Review of The Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Hotel
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Reviewed 18 April 2016

Lovely old hotel in great location. Arrived early and were able to get into room which was in the newer part of the building. Room was adequate for our one night stay. Shops nearby, Nice meal in the pub, good choice of food and good prices. Continental breakfast included. Overall really happy with our stay, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ScotsguyKiwigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, General Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you for writing a review. Yes, if possible we like to accommodate our guests even with early flights into Wanganui. We are proud of our pub meals and they always review good reviews. Thanks for the nice comments regarding our staff. Kind regards, The Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2016

We spent one night here on our road trip of NZ - it is very cheap so we weren't expecting much - the staff were friendly - the hotel is rather shabby and breakfast was very basic. It was fine for one night but I wouldn't want to stay here much longer. The internet had a very poor signal

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you for writing a review. Our hotel was built in 1927. We take great pride as loving custodians of the hotel. We are constandly renewing and reburbishing the property. Our hotel is built with reinforced concrete. There are one or two wifi spots with weak signal but we are constantly working to improve this also. Kind regards, The Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We do enjoy our trips to Wanganui. Rooms lovely and clean super hot showers. Great food. We love the steaks. Excellent staff who are always very helpful. All round exceptional value for money in a great location. We enjoy the history of the building together with modern conveniences.

Room Tip: In the summer the balcony rooms are nice as you can sit outside also like room 108 and the suites. L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan0753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We stayed 1-night. The main hotel is a lovely historic building. Our rooms were up the elevator, down a long hallway, around the corner and probably not part of the original building. They were not so glamorous. The bedroom was tired looking and the furnishings all looked second hand although the bathroom has been more recently updated. In addition, the walls were pretty thin and we could hear neighbouring guests. We did have a hot water issue (there was none for morning shower). The hotel has laundry facilities but the dryer does not work very well at all. The hotel offers free WiFi but it was not working when we were there. Not the best value for money.

The hotel is situated in a quiet part of town, but overall the town looks to be in a midst of an economic downturn and we found many vacant building and businesses closed.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

We are sorry for anything that was amiss on our part. The internet was transferred over to ultra fast fiber and did experience issues for a small period. I can assure you the flat screen tv, the king or queen bed, carpets, fridge, and numerious furnishings are no more than 18 months old as we replaced them when we put in the totally new ensuite. It sounds like you did not enjoy Wanganui but we are no different to any other New Zealand provincial town. Wanganui has many attractions that are admired New Zealand wide. IE Art Gallery, Historic Opera House, Muesum etc etc ... Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Check in was appropriate. Traditional Olde English decor with a grand piano. Adjoining (integral) Irish pub with an adjoining (also integral to the hotel) modern low market restaurant (Breakers) which doubles up as the dining room for overnight breakfasting hotel guests. Actual room located at the back/side with basic facilities and clean. Immediate view is of the car park and roof tops but in the distance a couple of landmarks could be seen. Rooms not very sound proof! Could hear next door urinating!
Bathroom mirror not square to wall and the triangular basin tap struggles to fit over a round hole in the ceramic basin and swivels around. Otherwise clean and tidy.
Room was clean and bedding appears to be of a good standard. Disappointingly, went to use a second pillow found in the blanket box, thought the pillow case looked a bit dishevelled and found someone's hair on it. So not a comfortable night. Photos attached.
Kettle too big to fill easily with water from the bathroom basin. Had to get a door latch repaired which was done promptly. The room was too warm and no window to open. The balcony door led to a shared balcony so could not be left open either.
Quick scout around for local eateries was a bit disappointing and having been assured the food was good at this hotel (Breakers) placed our order. Worst meal on this holiday! Kids running riot, parents not taking responsibility for their offspring. Noisy. No quiet adult eating area. Felt like a fast food venue but the food was not fast.
I chose the seafood platter - Yuch! I have never had crab sticks battered - in this case the batter was really thick and the crab stick lost all its flavour and texture. It was a glutinous mush. The battered squid was in filo pastry and looked more like whole skinny parsnips. The battered fish had next to no fish contained within its batter coat. The batter overall was very greasy. Asked for tartare sauce and vinegar - was given vinegar and what I believe was garlic mayo in two very large containers. Pointed out the error for which I received an apology and provided with a replacement bottle of tartare - this was actually the same as the first - and there wasn't a caper to be found anywhere in that sauce either. Gave up with the meal and retired to the Irish pub.
Observed a very good quiz in action which was well supported and well run. Cocktail menu was disappointing but reasonably priced spirits made up for this.
Having lived on the continent the continental breakfast was disappointing - no sliced meats, cheeses or boiled eggs. I chose poached eggs on toast and must say the eggs were poached to perfection and had a beautifully deep orange runny yolk. The "coffee" was awful! Please change your coffee to proper coffee.
Value for money? Room $NZ99 OK breakfast poor
Breakers cafe/bar: shocking won't be going to another one!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sustainer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Thank you for the nice comments about the reception area. We strightened the mirror in the bathroom. I personally came to your room after check in and spent time talking about the history of Wanganui with the both of you. I did explain there was a queen ann suite available but would cost a little more but you said you were quite happy in your room. Our free continential breakfast is enjoyed by most people, anyone with common sense would realise i could not put on a free breakfast as you described when we charge $ 99.00 for two people ie ($49.50 per head) i would go broke. Why did you dine in the family cafe if you don't like children, you could of dined in our irish bar or in our dining room by the grand piano. Glad you enjoyed the eggs hope you manage to enjoyed whats left of your holiday .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whanganui hotels
0.4 km away
Rutland Arms Inn
Rutland Arms Inn
#7 of 26 in Whanganui
80 reviews
0.9 km away
Siena Motor Lodge
Siena Motor Lodge
#1 of 26 in Whanganui
258 reviews
1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel The Avenue Wanganui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Anndion Lodge, Apartments & Function Centre
0.4 km away
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
Cooks Gardens Motor Lodge
#9 of 26 in Whanganui
58 reviews
0.7 km away
Riverview Motel
Riverview Motel
#5 of 26 in Whanganui
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel

Address: Corner St. Hill & Guyton Streets, Whanganui 4541, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Whanganui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Whanganui
Price Range: $102 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing