We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$108
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anndion Lodge Motel & Function Centre(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
151 on London(Whanganui)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kings Court Motel(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riverview Motel(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whanganui River Top 10 Holiday Park(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Astral Motel & Apartments(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whanganui Seaside Holiday Park(Whanganui)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rutland Arms Inn(Whanganui)
US$105
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
47
63
29
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
63
29
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsirish pubcontinental breakfastone nightold stylenew zealandboxing daylovely nightgood sized bathroompieup to datefriendly servicegreat value for moneynice staynext morningtea and coffeeshort staylamb shank
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2016

We spent one night here on our road trip of NZ - it is very cheap so we weren't expecting much - the staff were friendly - the hotel is rather shabby and breakfast was very basic. It was fine for one night but I wouldn't want to stay here much longer. The internet had a very poor signal

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Thank you for writing a review. Our hotel was built in 1927. We take great pride as loving custodians of the hotel. We are constandly renewing and reburbishing the property. Our hotel is built with reinforced concrete. There are one or two wifi spots with weak signal but we are constantly working to improve this also. Kind regards, The Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

We do enjoy our trips to Wanganui. Rooms lovely and clean super hot showers. Great food. We love the steaks. Excellent staff who are always very helpful. All round exceptional value for money in a great location. We enjoy the history of the building together with modern conveniences.

Room Tip: In the summer the balcony rooms are nice as you can sit outside also like room 108 and the suites. Lift access is a bonus.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan0753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We stayed 1-night. The main hotel is a lovely historic building. Our rooms were up the elevator, down a long hallway, around the corner and probably not part of the original building. They were not so glamorous. The bedroom was tired looking and the furnishings all looked second hand although the bathroom has been more recently updated. In addition, the walls were pretty thin and we could hear neighbouring guests. We did have a hot water issue (there was none for morning shower). The hotel has laundry facilities but the dryer does not work very well at all. The hotel offers free WiFi but it was not working when we were there. Not the best value for money.

The hotel is situated in a quiet part of town, but overall the town looks to be in a midst of an economic downturn and we found many vacant building and businesses closed.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy_Ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

We are sorry for anything that was amiss on our part. The internet was transferred over to ultra fast fiber and did experience issues for a small period. I can assure you the flat screen tv, the king or queen bed, carpets, fridge, and numerious furnishings are no more than 18 months old as we replaced them when we put in the totally new ensuite. It sounds like you did not enjoy Wanganui but we are no different to any other New Zealand provincial town. Wanganui has many attractions that are admired New Zealand wide. IE Art Gallery, Historic Opera House, Muesum etc etc ... Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Check in was appropriate. Traditional Olde English decor with a grand piano. Adjoining (integral) Irish pub with an adjoining (also integral to the hotel) modern low market restaurant (Breakers) which doubles up as the dining room for overnight breakfasting hotel guests. Actual room located at the back/side with basic facilities and clean. Immediate view is of the car park and roof tops but in the distance a couple of landmarks could be seen. Rooms not very sound proof! Could hear next door urinating!
Bathroom mirror not square to wall and the triangular basin tap struggles to fit over a round hole in the ceramic basin and swivels around. Otherwise clean and tidy.
Room was clean and bedding appears to be of a good standard. Disappointingly, went to use a second pillow found in the blanket box, thought the pillow case looked a bit dishevelled and found someone's hair on it. So not a comfortable night. Photos attached.
Kettle too big to fill easily with water from the bathroom basin. Had to get a door latch repaired which was done promptly. The room was too warm and no window to open. The balcony door led to a shared balcony so could not be left open either.
Quick scout around for local eateries was a bit disappointing and having been assured the food was good at this hotel (Breakers) placed our order. Worst meal on this holiday! Kids running riot, parents not taking responsibility for their offspring. Noisy. No quiet adult eating area. Felt like a fast food venue but the food was not fast.
I chose the seafood platter - Yuch! I have never had crab sticks battered - in this case the batter was really thick and the crab stick lost all its flavour and texture. It was a glutinous mush. The battered squid was in filo pastry and looked more like whole skinny parsnips. The battered fish had next to no fish contained within its batter coat. The batter overall was very greasy. Asked for tartare sauce and vinegar - was given vinegar and what I believe was garlic mayo in two very large containers. Pointed out the error for which I received an apology and provided with a replacement bottle of tartare - this was actually the same as the first - and there wasn't a caper to be found anywhere in that sauce either. Gave up with the meal and retired to the Irish pub.
Observed a very good quiz in action which was well supported and well run. Cocktail menu was disappointing but reasonably priced spirits made up for this.
Having lived on the continent the continental breakfast was disappointing - no sliced meats, cheeses or boiled eggs. I chose poached eggs on toast and must say the eggs were poached to perfection and had a beautifully deep orange runny yolk. The "coffee" was awful! Please change your coffee to proper coffee.
Value for money? Room $NZ99 OK breakfast poor
Breakers cafe/bar: shocking won't be going to another one!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sustainer15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neville G, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Thank you for the nice comments about the reception area. We strightened the mirror in the bathroom. I personally came to your room after check in and spent time talking about the history of Wanganui with the both of you. I did explain there was a queen ann suite available but would cost a little more but you said you were quite happy in your room. Our free continential breakfast is enjoyed by most people, anyone with common sense would realise i could not put on a free breakfast as you described when we charge $ 99.00 for two people ie ($49.50 per head) i would go broke. Why did you dine in the family cafe if you don't like children, you could of dined in our irish bar or in our dining room by the grand piano. Glad you enjoyed the eggs hope you manage to enjoyed whats left of your holiday .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Great value for money, huge hotel plus bars and restaurants in walking distance of town. We had puncture on Bank Holiday and the owner Neville was just brilliant, found someone to help us, let us use the phone, was just so friendly and went out of his way to assist. We were so grateful. Room good clean and well apointed, couldn't believe washer/dryer was free service - we had to pay everywhere else we went. We had drink in the bar then popped over the road for nice Indian meal as pub food not always good for me as a vegetarian. Relaxed help yourself breakfast in the morning. This is a great stopover as we did or could be used as a base for exploring the surrounding area. Thanks again Neville.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank drmary145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews