We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for a night away”
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2017

This historical home is located in a picturesque natural setting on a bend of the Kauraeranga River. The rooms are small, yet with stylish decor and serviced with a high level of cleanliness. Garth and Adrienne are friendly and professional hosts. Breakfast is served in the villa dining room and is superbly presented. This cottage is a lovely spot from which to explore Thames, and from which to enjoy the slower pace of life offered by this region.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry3oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Hi Kerry and thank you. Sorry it has taken a while to respond, but we have been away from the computer a lot in recent months. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we would love to see you back if you fancy another break from the city. Adrienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2017

The local is slightly elevated and has a nice view. The garden invites you to relax. The room was clean and we liked it very much. The friendly, helpful hosts presented a plentiful and delicious breakfast. Further, they supported us for the daily tour planning. It was a pitty that we pland our stay for 2 days only.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rbenninger2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thanks so much Rudolf. We really enjoyed meeting you both and are only sorry that we had to cancel our trip to Europe, thus not seeing you again there. However it is in next year's plan, so we'll stay in touch.

Very glad you enjoyed your time in beautiful NZ. A and G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

This is a very nice B&B run by pleasant people! The couple that operate it are interested in their guests enjoying all that the Coromandel has to offer. The breakfast was pleantiful and delicious I'd certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms are on the smaller end but comfortable and have a great view right out the front.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Thank you Steven, for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we are always keen to make sure that our visitors see the best of NZ. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Beautiful setting, delicious and generous breakfast! Very helpful hosts with good recommendations for dinner and travel advice. They even checked the road conditions for our trip as some roads had been washed out and gave us a map to follow. The rooms were super comfy and clean. We enjoyed the hot tub too!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 741mandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2017

Hi, and thank you for your lovely review. It was such an awful time for overseas tourists to be staying, and we were very keen to ensure that no-one got stuck by road closures or other problems! Hope all went well for you once you left us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

A lovely stay with superb hosts on elevated and sunny north facing site. A good springboard for exploring the Coromandel Peninsula. Our room very comfortable with views over the racecourse.
Would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank warrensanderson36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CotCot2014, Owner at Cotswold Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017

Thanks Warren for taking the time to review us. We really enjoyed your company and were glad we could share a meal with you both. Look forward to seeing you again some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
39.2 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
31 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.5 km away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
200 reviews
5.8 km away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
145 reviews
3.2 km away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: $174 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing