We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL RELAXING STAY”
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2015

We spent two very relaxing nights at Cotswold Cottage, Thames. It is lovely villa set in beautiful peaceful surroundings and is ideal if you're wanting to stay in Thames or heading to the Coromandel Peninsula. Adrienne and Garth are truly wonderful hosts and their attention to detail is amazing. We would love to have stayed longer but work in the big city of Auckland beckoned us.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela19112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2015

From the moment we drove up the driveway we knew that it was going to be a beautiful place to stay. Situated on a hill with breath taking views, the gardens are extremely well maintained and the property just gives you a nice warm feeling. Garth & Arienne Familton were great hosts. This was our first experience at a B&B and we were a little sceptical about it but soon realised we had no reason to be. Arienne offered to hold our luggage as we arrived before check-in time and gave us the run down of what we could do for the afternoon/evening. Without her help we wouldn't have been able to see so many things in the Coromandel Peninsula in the little time we had. We stayed in the Holker room and we felt like we were at home the moment we walked in. Attention to detail has been applied to everything at this B&B. We certainly appreciated the Whittaker's Chocolate bars that were left with the coffee/tea amenities in the room. Breakfast was continental with the option of a hot breakfast as well. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2015

Friendly hosts with lots of information to share.
Good breakfast available.
Convenient location for Auckland airport and Coromandel.
Home from home feel, the building is an old (for NZ) villa style with lots of original features and a lovely garden to sit in if you wish.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank intelligentgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

This was our best accomendation during our four weeks in New Zeeland. Adrienne and Garth is fantastic hosts. We were celebrating 30 years of marriage and they arranged our dinner in a romatic spot with a view over the river. They made a wonderful dinner and selected an excellent wine. We are going to remember Costwold Cottage with love in our hearts.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Carole Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Cotswold Cottage was the perfect place for myself and bridal party to stay the night before my wedding in December 2014.

Garth and Adrienne are the most humble, genuine hosts I have ever come across. When I enquired earlier in the year regarding staying with my bridal party the night before my wedding, they were only most happy to help out, even inviting me to have a look around before booking. They accommodated 5 of us which meant we were able to have the entire B&B to ourselves the night before and the day of the wedding which made it so enjoyable when we were all getting ready.

The breakfast we were served the morning of was definitely 5 star restaurant quality, DELICIOUS!!
Everything about Cotswold Cottage felt homely and relaxing, Garth and Adrienne went out of their way to help us out and accommodate every possible request. Even including supplying PVA Glue to re-stick my false eyelashes on - as the makeup artist had already left!
Nothing ever seemed a hassle.

I would highly recommend Cotswold Cottage as a place to stay with your bridal party the night before your wedding - we felt so welcome, infact all of us want to have another girls night there!

The rooms were all large and comfortable - the beds huge! The furnishings were to die for, and the bathrooms were all a good size and SPOTLESS! Not to mention the VIEWS!

I would have absolutely no trouble recommending Garth and Adrienne to future guests.

Thank you so much for making the beginning of my wedding day highly enjoyable, relaxing and memorable!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank farmerwifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
39.2 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
513 reviews
2.0 km away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
105 reviews
31.0 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
22.4 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
198 reviews
3.2 km away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Thames

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: $174 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing