We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl in Thames”
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2015

This was our best accomendation during our four weeks in New Zeeland. Adrienne and Garth is fantastic hosts. We were celebrating 30 years of marriage and they arranged our dinner in a romatic spot with a view over the river. They made a wonderful dinner and selected an excellent wine. We are going to remember Costwold Cottage with love in our hearts.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Carole Ö
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2015

Cotswold Cottage was the perfect place for myself and bridal party to stay the night before my wedding in December 2014.

Garth and Adrienne are the most humble, genuine hosts I have ever come across. When I enquired earlier in the year regarding staying with my bridal party the night before my wedding, they were only most happy to help out, even inviting me to have a look around before booking. They accommodated 5 of us which meant we were able to have the entire B&B to ourselves the night before and the day of the wedding which made it so enjoyable when we were all getting ready.

The breakfast we were served the morning of was definitely 5 star restaurant quality, DELICIOUS!!
Everything about Cotswold Cottage felt homely and relaxing, Garth and Adrienne went out of their way to help us out and accommodate every possible request. Even including supplying PVA Glue to re-stick my false eyelashes on - as the makeup artist had already left!
Nothing ever seemed a hassle.

I would highly recommend Cotswold Cottage as a place to stay with your bridal party the night before your wedding - we felt so welcome, infact all of us want to have another girls night there!

The rooms were all large and comfortable - the beds huge! The furnishings were to die for, and the bathrooms were all a good size and SPOTLESS! Not to mention the VIEWS!

I would have absolutely no trouble recommending Garth and Adrienne to future guests.

Thank you so much for making the beginning of my wedding day highly enjoyable, relaxing and memorable!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank farmerwifey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

The best place on ouer one month trip to NZ..travelled from Bluff on SI up to Auckland on NI with many motels and bob...Wonderfull hostess and host...super breakfust..perfect eggs for the first time of ouer journey and everything else was high class..Highly recomended !! Carole and Aage from Sweden

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rullerov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Just returned from trip to North Island NZ. Cotswold was lovely and easy to find with a sign on the main road. Just outside of main town center. Friend and I stayed in twin bed room. Lovely and clean! Adrienne and Garth even stayed up late to help us check in! Garth gave us plenty of advice on how to tackle the peninsula as well as let us borrow beach towels and a spade for hot water beach. He even rinsed our rental car off for us after we did a little off roading through the 309 and other roads! Breakfast was fantastic! Seperate entrance to room and very quiet. Im picky about where I sleep and often travel alone as a singal gal (although I was with a friend this trip) but felt very safe and I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014 via mobile

Cotswold Cottage was the first stop on a weeklong bike trip around New Zealand's Coromandel Peninsula. At the end of a long, rainy ride, Garth & Adrienne were the perfect hosts (fresh scones served to us in the hot tub!) and the place -- the definition of charming, like something out of a short story. Gorgeous postcard view, wine in the common area and a killer "Full Kiwi" breakfast. "Coco" the cat has quite the beautiful spot. Highly recommended.
-- Alfredo Casuso & David Perry

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidPerrySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
39.2 km away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
517 reviews
31 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
1.5 km away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
200 reviews
5.8 km away
Coastal Motor Lodge
Coastal Motor Lodge
#3 of 11 in Thames
145 reviews
3.2 km away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price Range: $174 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing