We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotswold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 21 December 2014 via mobile

The best place on ouer one month trip to NZ..travelled from Bluff on SI up to Auckland on NI with many motels and bob...Wonderfull hostess and host...super breakfust..perfect eggs for the first time of ouer journey and everything else was high class..Highly recomended !! Carole and Aage from Sweden

  • Stayed December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rullerov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
111
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2014

Just returned from trip to North Island NZ. Cotswold was lovely and easy to find with a sign on the main road. Just outside of main town center. Friend and I stayed in twin bed room. Lovely and clean! Adrienne and Garth even stayed up late to help us check in! Garth gave us plenty of advice on how to tackle the peninsula as well as let us borrow beach towels and a spade for hot water beach. He even rinsed our rental car off for us after we did a little off roading through the 309 and other roads! Breakfast was fantastic! Seperate entrance to room and very quiet. Im picky about where I sleep and often travel alone as a singal gal (although I was with a friend this trip) but felt very safe and I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2014 via mobile

Cotswold Cottage was the first stop on a weeklong bike trip around New Zealand's Coromandel Peninsula. At the end of a long, rainy ride, Garth & Adrienne were the perfect hosts (fresh scones served to us in the hot tub!) and the place -- the definition of charming, like something out of a short story. Gorgeous postcard view, wine in the common area and a killer "Full Kiwi" breakfast. "Coco" the cat has quite the beautiful spot. Highly recommended.
-- Alfredo Casuso & David Perry

  • Stayed November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPerrySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here to cycle the Thames rail path.
The room was very clean and fresh and we were served afternoon tea on arrival.
We slept like babies and had a fabulous home cooked breakfast in the morning.
They even picked us up from Wakino after our cycling ride.
Would definitely stay here agin!

Room Tip: All 3 looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Just an hour out of Auckland, this is a great weekend get away for couples. On arrival, we were offered fresh baked scones and a cup of tea. We hadn't been to the Coromandel for a few years and were in need of some educated direction. (Due to time constraints). We got great directions on all that the coromandel offered. Room was clean, modern, yet vintage. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was great and certainly set us up for a day of exploring. Other upsides - breakfast is at a main table in the house so you got to catch up with other travelers - eg: great adult conversation. All in all - 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwifuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
1.7 km away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
110 reviews
2.0 km away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
100 reviews
31.0 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
3.2 km away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
113 reviews
22.4 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Property: Cotswold Cottage
Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price range (per night): $143 - $191
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing