We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning place, great service and beautiful views!”
Review of Cotswold Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cotswold Cottage
Ranked #1 of 13 Thames B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning place, great service and beautiful views!”
Reviewed 1 December 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here to cycle the Thames rail path.
The room was very clean and fresh and we were served afternoon tea on arrival.
We slept like babies and had a fabulous home cooked breakfast in the morning.
They even picked us up from Wakino after our cycling ride.
Would definitely stay here agin!

Room Tip: All 3 looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    10
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
111
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Just an hour out of Auckland, this is a great weekend get away for couples. On arrival, we were offered fresh baked scones and a cup of tea. We hadn't been to the Coromandel for a few years and were in need of some educated direction. (Due to time constraints). We got great directions on all that the coromandel offered. Room was clean, modern, yet vintage. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was great and certainly set us up for a day of exploring. Other upsides - breakfast is at a main table in the house so you got to catch up with other travelers - eg: great adult conversation. All in all - 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwifuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
451 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2014

All of the other glowing reviews for this special Bed and Breakfast accommodation are totally justified. The location is lovely, with the house surrounded by pleasant gardens and set up on a rise with views over the racecourse and green fields to the hills. Adrienne and Garth are such welcoming and accommodating hosts, you couldn't do better. And the breakfasts are another memorable treat - whether it's toast with a choice of spreads, delicious muesli or other cereals served with fruit, a full cooked breakfast, or pancakes, nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are comfortable, well-appointed and very clean, and the area totally quiet at night (the only exception to this being that you will hear other guests in their rooms, and if they arrive late or leave early, but otherwise silence reigns). There is outdoor seating to enjoy, either on the deck outside the guest rooms or out in the garden, tea and coffee facilities whenever you want to use them, and if there is anything else you want, just ask. Nurse Adrienne was even able to provide treatment and a plaster for a graze when we discovered that we had left our first aid kit at home.

Stayed November 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Outstanding b&b on elevated landscape. Fresh produce used in breakfasts. Manicured gardens and helpful hosts - with lots of advise on tourist attractions. Stay was very pleasant - big recommendations for CotswoldCottage!!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjmcgx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoalheven
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2014

We planned to stay 1 night at Cotswold Cottage but after arriving on site and meeting Garth and Adrienne we decided to stay 2. And that was before we had experienced their fabulous breakfast.
Accommodation was excellent, breakfast superb and Garth planned our day exploring the wonderful peninsula to perfection.

  • Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodsieShoalhaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thames
1.7 km away
Rolleston Motel
Rolleston Motel
#4 of 7 in Thames
108 reviews
31.0 km away
Grand Mercure Puka Park Resort
2.0 km away
Tuscany on Thames
Tuscany on Thames
#3 of 7 in Thames
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Grafton Cottage and Chalets
3.2 km away
Brookby Motel
Brookby Motel
#1 of 7 in Thames
110 reviews
22.4 km away
Te Mata Lodge
Te Mata Lodge
#2 of 7 in Thames
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Cottage

Property: Cotswold Cottage
Address: 46 Maramarahi Road | Totara, Thames 3578, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Thames
Price range (per night): $145 - $192
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Cotswold Cottage 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Cottage is a historic 1920 villa just one hour from Auckland airport. Gorgeous views of the river, mountains, valley and the sea in the distance. Complimentary afternoon tea on arrival. Continental and cooked breakfast. Free wifi. Spa pool and guest BBQ. Guest rooms all have private access opening on to a sunny terrace. Toiletries, hair drier, bath towels, TV, electric blankets, heater, tea and coffee making facilities in each room. Dinner can be provided by prior arrangement. Well situated for a quick trip from Auckland airport, and driving around the Coromandel Peninsula - close to Bay of Plenty and Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cotswold Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Cottage Hotel Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing