We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (101)
Filter reviews
101 results
Traveller rating
31
30
15
8
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
30
15
8
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews holiday park place to stay road trip coromandel town the main road auckland airport site kitchen campervan campground
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 101 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Well sorry to the owners but there is nothing I can say that is good.The toilets and showers and camp kitchen after left over from the settlement of NZ. The owners need to spend some of their not so hard earned and upgrade. I could not see myself ever stopping again sorry.There was no internet provided.I can not comment on any units there as I was in a van.

Room Tip: Sorry to say I would not stop here.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pienbeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Sorry that you weren't happy. We were away for the camp and had a reliever here. We do provide internet, he must have forgotten to offer. We are new owners, and have already a plan in place for an upgrade of the ablution block, and the rest of the Holiday Park, but it all takes time. At present we are putting in drainage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

It was a lovely camping, but not that much to do. It had adeqate facilites. When we arrived. they wanted to give us a site near the recepiton and easy access to the facilities. Due to a strong wind, we decieded to take a site on the lower part of the campground out of the wind, but we had to take the stairs up to the facilities.

We tried to do a hiking trail, which started on the campgound, but it is very steep and would have needed real hiking boots to do it all. The start was very promising, but after the first sign there weren't any oder signs and we had to turn around. Unfortunately, the manager of the campground was not able to give us anymore information.

WIFI was not free of charge.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2017

Thanks for your feedback. There is a lot to do in Thames. Goldmine tour, Mineral Mines, Walks, Movies, Water Gardens, and also, hotpools close by. On the back of our welcome brochure has instructions for the walk, which is a Department of Conservation Walk. It gives clear instructions to follow the markers. We give 30 minutes complimentary Wifi with each booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Well maintained park 2 minutes off the main road and the bay. We had a powered site for our motor home and stayed one night before heading to Auckland.
Showers were free and cleaned. Good place to stay and see the surrounding area.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nieske_zld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thank you for you feed back. We bought the Holiday Park 1 year ago and are continually improving it. It is a lovely place set in 8 acres of bush, 5 minutes away from the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

These owners need to learn some people skills they are terrible hosts
Do not recommend at all
There are. Much better places to stay the people that run this place need to learn some manners dirty toilets and showers

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GordonR1098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

This review was written by a person who was asked to leave because of threatening offensive behaviour. Our toilets and showers are very clean here, and our manners are pretty good too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We had literally the last chalet which was available. But never mind that, it was a quaint little flat as they were called. Lots of room and good, decent bed and a porch were we could sit. The wifi was n't free and the pricing was, lets say, special. 30 MB free is not really a gift....

Room Tip: take a flat...
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criticalscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
707cindy, Owner at Dickson Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Not sure what you mean about pricing being "special". We do give 100mbs internet free with every booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews