We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“serene”

RAPAURA Watergardens
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mature property, which has evolved over more than 45 years, Rapaura Watergardens offers something for everyone; native trees, ferns, seasonal flora, lily ponds, meandering walks over lush green lawns, bridges and streams, garden sculptures by an award winning artist and a relaxing bush walk to a cascading waterfall, ‘The Seven Stairs to Heaven’.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“serene”
Reviewed 4 March 2017

you share your walk with birds, ducks and the sound of water. Very peaceful. Do not forget to stop at the cafe; it is worth it.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank An V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    36
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely visit”
Reviewed 2 March 2017

We spent a really enjoyable few hours here. Great meal in the restaurant - a delicious curry soup and fresh local flounder. Beautifully cooked and lovely flavours accompanied by home made bread. Then walked round the delightful gardens and through the bush walk to the waterfalls. The owner was charming and spent time telling us the history of the gardens. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieLJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
101 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Small Detour ”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Some friends recommended this garden before we left the UK. Glad we followed their advice. The drive across the Tapu-Coroglen road was interesting, i.e. a scary dirt road with tight corners, but a lot a fun all the same. The gardens were fantastic, assuming you like tropical gardens. The walk to the waterfalls were also worth the 30 minute trek through the forest. Beautiful gardens, well laid out and maintained, then leading into forests of ferns. Great for a couple of hours away from the crowds. Not that there are many crowds in the Coromandel Peninsular.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We visited yesterday - what an amazing place, the website did not do it justice. We decided to have lunch in the cafe prior to enjoying the gardens. Lovely food, served by caring staff who didn't mind answering our questions, and generally sharing their knowledge of the area, and didn't neglect other customers whilst doing so. Very nice facilities there, and excellent menu choices. Then the gardens ...words are hard to describe the whole experience. Beautifully laid out with good access paths, although not really suitable for wheelchairs. Otherwise very accessible (one of our party was less able bodied but coped well with it all. Views, sounds and atmosphere were just amazing. I would highly recommend for anyone who has a troubled spirit, to visit and just let the gardens weave their magic - it was all very tranquil and healing.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi0lds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
830 reviews
574 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Very nice visit if you lake garden and nature”
Reviewed 18 February 2017

The gardens are wort the entrance fee. First there is a walk in the beautiful gardens, after there is a nature walk on a good path to the waterfall. There is a café-restaurant.
We were more than 2 hours in the gardens

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank LouenStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RAPAURA Watergardens also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to RAPAURA Watergardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing