We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth a Small Detour ”

RAPAURA Watergardens
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Thames
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A mature property, which has evolved over more than 45 years, Rapaura Watergardens offers something for everyone; native trees, ferns, seasonal flora, lily ponds, meandering walks over lush green lawns, bridges and streams, garden sculptures by an award winning artist and a relaxing bush walk to a cascading waterfall, ‘The Seven Stairs to Heaven’.
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Small Detour ”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Some friends recommended this garden before we left the UK. Glad we followed their advice. The drive across the Tapu-Coroglen road was interesting, i.e. a scary dirt road with tight corners, but a lot a fun all the same. The gardens were fantastic, assuming you like tropical gardens. The walk to the waterfalls were also worth the 30 minute trek through the forest. Beautiful gardens, well laid out and maintained, then leading into forests of ferns. Great for a couple of hours away from the crowds. Not that there are many crowds in the Coromandel Peninsular.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    36
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 23 February 2017

We visited yesterday - what an amazing place, the website did not do it justice. We decided to have lunch in the cafe prior to enjoying the gardens. Lovely food, served by caring staff who didn't mind answering our questions, and generally sharing their knowledge of the area, and didn't neglect other customers whilst doing so. Very nice facilities there, and excellent menu choices. Then the gardens ...words are hard to describe the whole experience. Beautifully laid out with good access paths, although not really suitable for wheelchairs. Otherwise very accessible (one of our party was less able bodied but coped well with it all. Views, sounds and atmosphere were just amazing. I would highly recommend for anyone who has a troubled spirit, to visit and just let the gardens weave their magic - it was all very tranquil and healing.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwi0lds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
834 reviews
577 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Very nice visit if you lake garden and nature”
Reviewed 18 February 2017

The gardens are wort the entrance fee. First there is a walk in the beautiful gardens, after there is a nature walk on a good path to the waterfall. There is a café-restaurant.
We were more than 2 hours in the gardens

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank LouenStephan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Massana, Andorra
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A lovely way to while away a couple of hours on a nice day”
Reviewed 17 February 2017

If you are at all interested in gardens, particularly water gardens, then this is a must see attraction whilst touring the Coromandel area.
Very well laid out, nicely kept & extensive gardens in a lovely setting that have obviously taken many years of careful planting & construction to develop. The lily ponds & their surrounding plantings are quite delightful with lovely & easy paths joining them all, although the 30 min walk up to the waterfall & back is not really necessary.
There is also a delighful cafe on site which serves excellent, freshly cooked & interesting food.
We would rate this a 5* attraction for anyone who enjoys nice gardens & recommend allowing a couple of hours to wander around & take in the setting, tranquility & planting & also stopping over for brunch/light lunch or afternoon tea.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AN OUTSTANDING VISIT AND EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We had a visitor from Taranaki who has always treated us particularly well when we went down to Waitara; so we really wanted somewhere memorable to show her what was "up North of Hamilton". Our visit on a hot day started well with a cool place to park under the trees. A relaxed atmosphere, adequate menu and a really obliging chef lead to an all too brief stop before driving over to Hot Water Beach. The chef's mother was a true professional, outstanding service and delicious food. The premises were immaculate and this is "a treasure of the Coromandel". I rated it on a par with "Fleur's Place".

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank 660london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed RAPAURA Watergardens also viewed

Whitianga, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Hahei, Coromandel Peninsula
Thames, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to RAPAURA Watergardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing