We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch for my wife and myself”
Review of The Elm Cafe

The Elm Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 13 April 2019

Well located in Fitzherbert Ave close to the bridge on way out of town towards Massey University. Small parking area on site plus roadside parking. Great outside eating area for sunny days plus smallish eating area inside. Furnishings appear dated now but restaurant area clean and tidy as it ablution area. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable and were quick to serve. Menu was not huge but definitely something for everybody I had the Vietnamese Shinko Mushroom soup and my wife had a well filled panini. The restaurant is obviously popular given the amount of diners in the restauraunt and the amount of reserved tables. Great for business meetings or end of year parties. Not so well set up for children but I dont see that as a drawback.Enjoyed our lunch in a good warm atmosphere. Jo

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2019 via mobile

Excellent venue
Great food
Friendly staff nothing a problem
Good service
Would definitely visit this cafe again

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank cyclingbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2019

We enjoyed our bunch here; French toast with bacon/banana and kumara stack. Plenty of seats, relaxed vibe, and lots to choose from on menu. Service was mostly good (efficient, fast, friendly), but a bit sporadic/not always consistent. Waitress came to take our order, realised she’d forgotten her pen and went away to get it but never returned - someone else helpful did. Coffee sometimes quick up to 5 mins, and other times seemed to take a long time - maybe 15 mins. Latte seemed weak & milky and when i mentioned it a staff member explained its only one shot so that’s something to keep in mind for future.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kristabelle_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 March 2019 via mobile

Fabulous visit on a Friday lunchtime. Stunning tasting plate with beautiful flavours, lovely wine and excellent service!!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank angharad2938
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2019

Great dinning, food delightful, nothings a problem.Have had 21st dinners here, 60th and just casual meals. Cannot fault staff or service, always friendly and on to it.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Odyssey704206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Elm Cafe also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to The Elm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.