We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be a fan”
Review of The Elm Cafe

The Elm Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 November 2018 via mobile

Came for Sunday lunch, ordered a vegetarian salad not from the menu (because there were no other options) they charged us $24!! There wasn't even anything that expensive on the menu! Another in our party got the wrong soup, looked disgusting, so ordered something else which didn't come till everyone else had finished eating of course. Really bad communication and service. Won't be back! Way better cafés in Palmerston North, don't waste your money.

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank TraveliciousNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

We didn’t have a lot of time & they did appear busy but the young lady that was serving found us a table quickly. Standard of food was good, we didn’t have to wait long, French toast was lovely & coffee was great. Parking was on the main road.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Ursh503
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2018

Location is very handy, food good.

However, it’s really noisy and the staff could improve their PR skills!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Stevecpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Nice and handy to town. Good parking and plenty of tables including outside. Good service and friendly staff great brunch menu on offer. Our food was delicious. Nice and Warm inside.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Markyparknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

The Elm never disappoints on food, delicious as always. But today I was most impressed with the staff. I'd neglected to book a table and on a rainy Friday it seemed that everyone wanted to lunch here. Lots of reserved tables and a queue. Despite being busy, staff kindly informed me that there would likely be a table shortly (I was early to meet friends), they took my details and phoned me within 20 minutes, which was perfect timing. Thanks.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank 866brigidf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Elm Cafe also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to The Elm Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.