We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait”
Review of Aberdeen

Aberdeen
Reserve a table
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our Restaurant is in the heart of the CBD in Palmerston North. We have a well established menu that caters for all customers. Our very experienced Head Chef Dean Harris can cater to all dietary requirements - given the right amount of notice. We have a good selection of protein choices on the menu as well as excellent vegetarian options. Our desserts are exceptional. Come in and try our menu. 161 Broadway Avenue.
Reviewed 21 December 2020

18 of us had our Christmas lunch there. The standard of service has definitely dropped, especially since the new owners took over. Waited nearly an hour for our meals.

Saving grace was my steak was beautifully cooked. The others in the group were happy with their meals too.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2020 via mobile

Whole experience was just crap to be honest. Staff just continually asked if we wanted more drinks, got two rounds out of us then came back 15min later to take our food order.
Food took FOURTY FIVE minutes to arrive. Everyone else around us getting their food before us, yes totally understand that we ordered at the same time as a large table but considering we were only a party of five.
Chips and onions rings could have at least come out to keep us going!
Ok - so everyones food came out except for one persons steak. The reason his steak didn’t come out according to the waitress was ‘the chef undercooked it” what??? Undercooked a medium rare steak? More like they FORGOT to cook it.
Now I know this is a steak house so I won’t harp on too much about this but I got their ‘vegan vegetable stack’. What stack? Two hash browns with two small mushrooms on top that was literally UNEDIBLE. I love vegetables but I could not eat it. Tasted like electricity. Awful. Refused to pay for it.
You definitely go our moneys worth out of us with the drinks though! Cunning! Will NEVER return. Bloody hell. Great service though, girls were really friendly.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank burnamicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2020 via mobile

One of the best meals I have ever experienced. Everything about it was incredible. The service was great, the atmosphere was awesome, and the food. Omg the food. Easily one of the best meals I have ever eaten.

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank oliviaboos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Lovely evening. Delish food, really nice atmosphere. Friendly attentive staff. Good portion sizes. Diffinetly worth a try.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank ShannonV483
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 October 2020 via mobile

Best steak in town. All kinds of steak, as you wish to have it. Delicious sides. Cozy fireplace on cold winter days with great staff. Not to forget the desserts!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank KarolinaW0591
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Aberdeen also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Aberdeen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.