We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Good, Service Okay ”
Review of Barista

Barista
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open every day 8.00AM - 11.00PM Cafe by day, Bistro by night with Art and Music themes in the popular George Street boutique shopping area near the theatres, Te Manawa Art Gallery & museum, NZ Rugby Museum, City Council Chambers, Convention Centre and the Square.
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

In town on business. Nice looking place with good coffee. Had the soup of the day and the scotch fillet which was cooked well. Unfortunately, the service was rather slow for my liking. Our coffees took an age to arrive and there was a long period of time where our waitress didn't check on us. Although our waitress was polite she wasn't particularly friendly. We had just traveled all the way from Auckland and expected some of that small town hospitality (which we received at a competitor the following night). Due to be back in Palmy again but will likely avoid.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Gr33nDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2021 via mobile

A busy cafe in a good location we visited as the reviews were reasonably consistent • Sunday brunch was busy with families and students .
We had eggs on “white toast” with bacon and fish of the day
The fish was tempting on the menu as it came with ricotta and lemon fritters . Sounded yummy but the deep fried quenelles were over cooked and hard and fish and cherry tomatoes sauce similar .
Best to stick to coffee and cake and grilled breakfast as this was quite ok .
Service was quick and coffee ok too

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank MichelleH4369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Visiting Palmy for 3 days and visited this iconic cafe several times. Was impressed by the staff, food and overall a great experience. Can't recommend it more...

But my visit this morning was marred by the behaviour of a staff member. When asking for the same (albeit special) coffee order I've happily been served (and equally happily paid extra for) over the last few days I was barked at, and when I queried his response was told tbe staff member didn't care and was overworked.

In a time of massive stress for all, it's understandable that nerves are frayed. And having been involved in the hospo industry I know just how hard it can sometimes be in normal environment - let alone in a covid one.

But the current level of stress in this industry is next level, and some remarkable people - staff and owners - are being pushed to the brink, if not over the edge...

This industry relies on great food (which this place has) and a great customer experience (which likewise it has).

And while it's a shame that such a great experience was marred for me this morning, my post is five stars, and this place is great, and like so many others who aim to deliver excellence, it and its people need our support.

I will be back - perhaps not today - but Barista is definately worth a visit - and I highly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 894hamishb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2021

Our waitress was smiley and efficient but it was the food which let the evening down. The steak was very dry and overcooked, it was tough to cut it up and hard to chew even with the sauce that was on the plate. The BBQ chicken pasta was bland and over salted. On the plus side the starters were excellent and one of the other mains was declared delicious. Maybe, I hope, it was a one off as we love Barista normally and this was the first time we had a poor experience there.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Palmy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2021 via mobile

Nice food, nicely cooked and tasty. A good selection on the
menu.
Nicely decorated. The provide magazines and daily newspapers.
The staff helpful. Great coffee.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank GreerShanasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Barista also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Barista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.