We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food enjoyed by all”
Review of Barista

Barista
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open every day 8.00AM - 11.00PM Cafe by day, Bistro by night with Art and Music themes in the popular George Street boutique shopping area near the theatres, Te Manawa Art Gallery & museum, NZ Rugby Museum, City Council Chambers, Convention Centre and the Square.
Reviewed 17 September 2020 via mobile

Group of 7 with different appetites and preferences like GF, and they were well catered for and loved their mains and desserts. Can order from the cabinet or menu with a great variety of dishes.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank 187maxinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

Great desserts. Best sticky toffee pudding! Highly recommended. Brunch not so great. Some ingredients were burnt, poached eggs were overcooked. Coffee could be better. Good selection of teas.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank KarolinaW0591
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2020

I have always enjoyed Barista Café but on Sunday I was very disappointed. We had a table booked for Fathers' Day brunch. There were no welcoming smiles or enthusiasm and the waitress certainly didn't go out of her way to make us feel comfortable. I have enjoyed meals that I have had previously at Baristas but found the sautéed potatoes very disappointing. apart from the eggs which were beautifully cooked. There were too many potatoes (and I really like potatoes usually) and virtually no mushrooms or other ingredients. The other three members of our family enjoyed their meals. Service definitely need to be improved.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sus1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 August 2020 via mobile

We are out of towners and we’re looking for a cafe to serve a everyday lunch..... wow were we blown away with this place. Definitely not your “everyday” cafe. Fab vibe, great service, incredible food!

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank ShaznShane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2020 via mobile

We ordered garlic bread and “sautéed” potatoes. The garlic bread was so burnt and hard I couldn’t even bite into it. The potato dish should be re named “boiled potatoes and oil” it was so greasy the bowl was filled with oil in the bottom it was so vile. I told the waitress that I couldn’t eat the food and the staff were really unhelpful. $32 for a a pile of garbage I couldn’t even eat. Go to cafe Cuba instead that place is so much better

Date of visit: June 2020
Thank Izzy9177
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Barista also viewed

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Barista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.