We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
48
17
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
17
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews centre of town sky channels free wifi within walking distance room was clean stayed here for one night cooked breakfast plenty of parking would definitely stay here again diane square hosts motel bed cutlery supermarket toiletries
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

Two nights here recently. Friendly check in. Warm rooms with comfortable bed. Good breakfast. WiFi took a while to attach but it worked. Lots of sky channels. Handy to town and lots of choices for food close at hand.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Bruce_M94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

The Fitzherbert Castle Motel Is located near the center of Palmerston North And has free parking. The Operators were very nice and helped us carry our luggage up to the second floor. The motel doesn't have a self service laundry but the women in the office offered to do two loads of our laundry for only $8NZD per load. There were several restaurants within walking distance and we chose The Thai Orchid which was good.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarylJ552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

The castle was well priced and provided a good sized room and bathroom. But everything felt old and dated. With old furniture, poor lighting and old brown carpets, it just made the place feel unclean and unwelcoming. Positives were that the Service was good, there was plenty of parking, plus it was within walking distance to the square in the centre of town. Probably wouldn’t go back.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank AdamC5906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelOwners, Owner at Fitzherbert Castle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2018

Adam - thank you for your review.
Our photos on the site on which you booked, correctly reflect our rooms as well as the furnishings, giving a good indication of what to expect. While our type of furnishings are not to everyone’s taste, they are very clean and tidy and in keeping with the building style.
Apologies if you did not find the lighting adequate for your needs – unsure whether you mean natural light or electric. We have recently replaced our bulbs with LED’s. Had you made us aware of your concerns after the first night, we could have moved you to another room with perhaps more natural light, which may have suited your needs better.
We do pride ourselves on our friendly service, so are very pleased that met with your approval.
Diane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

i booked this because of its ratings and glad to say it lived up to them,nice friendly staff,clean,good facilities and close to the town,i really enjoyed my stay and would book to stay here again,and it had 50 sky channels and you could pause and record wow first time ever good WiFi well done

Room tip: i booked through an internet place and my room was superb
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Liked the leafy trees surrounding this motel and the fact it is a quick walk to centre of town. It is certainly an old style with drab furnishings and very tired carpet. Bathroom was Ok though and I loved all the big mirrors. It has a relaxing feel and has everything you need including large room and space for working at a desk. Cleaning was average with a need to vacuum and dust behind things, not just around them! Agree with reviewer who wrote about noise - I heard every person coming and going as doors dont block out anything really.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bianca5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews