We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely well located motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely well located motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2016

We returned today from a week in Palmesrton North and we're lucky to have accomodation organised for us at the Fitzherbert Castle Motel. What a great location to the town centre and a very generous sized room that was well equipped with appliances - jug, microwave, mini fridge. Nice big bathroom and a very effective room heater.
Everything was very clean and most comfortable, nothing was too much trouble by our kind hosts who even did my husband and son's washing!
We will be recommending Thi smother to all our friends and colleagues. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcnz2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelOwners, Owner at Fitzherbert Castle Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2016
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Glad you enjoyed our accommodation and our close proximity to the town centre. Look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
18
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2016

just a one night stay before an early flight out. Nice warm welcome, very spacious room, with large bed, tub chair, small table & two chairs and desk (plenty of room). A really nice comfortable room with a luxury feel to it. Very clean and tidy also. Although on main road, it was very quiet. Cooked breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2016

We have traveled to Palmerston North quite often and really do like staying at Fitzherhert Castle. Proprietors Geof and Diana make you real welcome. The walk to the Plaza just a stone throw away and the breakfasts that Geoff says he cooks ! real
worthy of the cause.The units are extremely tidy and our choice of unit 8 or 9 give us
that extra space. Not that we really need but enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 8 or 9 are roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise ... Quiet even though on a busy street. Central and within walking distance to local Mall.Clean room, comfortable bed.Lovely breakfasts.

Will stay again ... The only odd thing was a knock on the door at 0300 one night! We suspect someone got the wrong room!

Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank deelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2016

This is a nice, clean, not fancy,2-story motel in Palmerston North. We booked here on our way north from Wellington in order to avoid another expensive night in Wellington. Owners Diana and Jeff were VERY nice; Jeff offering to take our bags upstairs (we accepted) and downstairs (we declined). Diana walked us down the street about 100 meters to show us a place she recommended for breakfast even though, for a fee, she would cook it. We felt this was perhaps the best bargain we found for lodging in a 4-week trip to New Zealand. We did not choose the breakfast from Diana nor The Coachman Hotel down the street (which Diana recommended), but chose Moxies's in downtown Palmerston North, recommended by "Lonely Planet." In retrospect, The Coachman was the best choice. Moxie's was quite expensive for such a town.

Room Tip: Guests may be inclined to avoid room on second floor, but thanks to Jeff's assistance, it wasn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palmerston North hotels
0.1 km away
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
Copthorne Hotel Palmerston North
#10 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Coachman
Hotel Coachman
#8 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 km away
Distinction Palmerston North Hotel & Conference Centre
Distinction Palmerston North Hot...
#5 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Econo Lodge The Villas
Econo Lodge The Villas
#19 of 25 in Palmerston North
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 km away
Destiny on Fitzherbert
Destiny on Fitzherbert
#2 of 25 in Palmerston North
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 km away
Cornwall Motor Lodge
Cornwall Motor Lodge
#1 of 25 in Palmerston North
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzherbert Castle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzherbert Castle Motel

Property: Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Address: 124 Fitzherbert Avenue, Palmerston North 4410, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Palmerston North
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Palmerston North
Price range (per night): $118 - $150
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fitzherbert Castle Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality accommodation conveniently located within easy walking distance of the city centre, conference venues, Palmerston North's cafe & boutique quarter, the Plaza, Victoria Esplanade, theatres & art galleries. Wireless Broadband Internet, on-site parking, CCTV, charge back facilities from city restaurants, spa baths in most units, all units designated non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fitzherbert Castle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing