We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fitzherbert Castle Motel
Nearby Hotels
Palmerston North Motel(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aubyn Court Spa Motel(Palmerston North)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arena Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Harringtons Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Coachman(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$83
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Motor Lodge(Palmerston North)
US$103
US$89
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rose City Motel(Palmerston North)
US$93
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$92
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest Palmerston North(Palmerston North)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
45
17
6
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
17
6
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentre of towngreat locationsky channelsnew zealandfree wifiwithin walking distancestayed here for one nightwould definitely stay here againcooked breakfastplenty of parkingdianesquarehostsmotelbedaccommodationcutlery
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2016

just a one night stay before an early flight out. Nice warm welcome, very spacious room, with large bed, tub chair, small table & two chairs and desk (plenty of room). A really nice comfortable room with a luxury feel to it. Very clean and tidy also. Although on main road, it was very quiet. Cooked breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

We have traveled to Palmerston North quite often and really do like staying at Fitzherhert Castle. Proprietors Geof and Diana make you real welcome. The walk to the Plaza just a stone throw away and the breakfasts that Geoff says he cooks ! real
worthy of the cause.The units are extremely tidy and our choice of unit 8 or 9 give us
that extra space. Not that we really need but enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 8 or 9 are roomy.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise ... Quiet even though on a busy street. Central and within walking distance to local Mall.Clean room, comfortable bed.Lovely breakfasts.

Will stay again ... The only odd thing was a knock on the door at 0300 one night! We suspect someone got the wrong room!

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank deelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2016

This is a nice, clean, not fancy,2-story motel in Palmerston North. We booked here on our way north from Wellington in order to avoid another expensive night in Wellington. Owners Diana and Jeff were VERY nice; Jeff offering to take our bags upstairs (we accepted) and downstairs (we declined). Diana walked us down the street about 100 meters to show us a place she recommended for breakfast even though, for a fee, she would cook it. We felt this was perhaps the best bargain we found for lodging in a 4-week trip to New Zealand. We did not choose the breakfast from Diana nor The Coachman Hotel down the street (which Diana recommended), but chose Moxies's in downtown Palmerston North, recommended by "Lonely Planet." In retrospect, The Coachman was the best choice. Moxie's was quite expensive for such a town.

Room Tip: Guests may be inclined to avoid room on second floor, but thanks to Jeff's assistance, it wasn't a negative for us.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bruce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

What nice people ! We had a huge room with complete kitchen facilities.
Although it's on a main road, our room at the back was very quiet and very comfortable.
We walked to very large supermarket in a shopping centre and could cook well in the cute kitchen area.

Room Tip: The biggest room was upstairs, no lift, but the downstairs rooms were still very spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sparrow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews